ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Walk/run camera mode (Being able to walk or run around on planets!)
Walk/run camera mode
DJangoDate: Sunday, 25.05.2014, 17:37 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Procedural planets in space engine are fantastic. They look beautiful, so much so that Oftentimes I dont simply fly past, I hover around lakes and mountains and take in the view.

Thus, I think it would be cool if you could switch out of spaceship mode and walk around on the planets surface. As in- Not hovering 10 meters off the ground, traveling at realistic speeds, and sticking to the ground and not flying off somewhere by accident.

It doesn't sound like a massive feat of coding, and I think it would add a new element to the game, in terms of role-playing climbing epic mountains, or wandering around valleys, etc.

Thanks in advance happy
-DJango
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 25.05.2014, 19:36 | Message # 2
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
You're like the 3025th person who asked this, and I am one of these biggrin
It's quite easy to implement, and SpaceEngineer probably will one day, maybe in this version, or maybe in the next one.
But he know what are his priorities, he knows what's more important and what's less important, so he only know if and when implement this feature. wink

(Anyway, there is another thread about this, it's just quite old)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Sunday, 25.05.2014, 19:40
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 26.05.2014, 00:51 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
This is not doable until terrain detail is improved and a logarithmic depth buffer is implemented. The 10-meter height boundary is a limitation of the engine right now, and will remain that way until fundamental upgrades are made.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 26.05.2014, 11:58 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote DJango ()
It doesn't sound like a massive feat of coding

You are wrong. In this particular case this is not easy. As HarbingerDawn said, 10 meters clip plane is a fundamental limitation of the engine. Even space ship are clipped out at this distance. This is due to limitation of the depth buffer resolution. I experimented with logarithmic depth buffer (you may enable it in the config), but I was not satisfied with its performance. So for now SpaceEngine can't render anything closer than 10 meters. Another fundamental problem - procedural generator can't create a textures with level of detail up to sentimeters, that is needed if you want to walk on surface. This is due to limitation of 32-bit floating point number resolution (no, I can't use 64-bit numbers - not all GPUs supported it, and their performance is artificially reduced 10-100 times compared to 32-bit numbers by vendors). And third problem - collision detection uses approximate calculations for now - you will sink into surface or float above it. So there is a lot of work to implement walk mode. And this is why it is still not implemented.





 
SHWDate: Monday, 26.05.2014, 12:25 | Message # 5
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
About problem with ZBuffer.
Have you seen, how this problem is solved in KSP?
As I understand, they render the same scene in several passes with different clip plane ranges, like 1m - 1km, 1km-1000km,..
So, thay can get the same thing as logarithmic "death" :-) buffer, but without it.
Probably, you can solve this problem in another way.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 26.05.2014, 12:32 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
SHW, this is half-solution. I needed an universal solution, that will allow to use the depth buffer of the whole scene in shaders. This is required for lot of effects, that will be implemented in SE: 3D water and clouds, soft particles, SSAO, etc. Even atmosphere code in the deferred pipeline.




 
SalvoDate: Monday, 26.05.2014, 13:58 | Message # 7
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
You are wrong. In this particular case this is not easy. As HarbingerDawn said, 10 meters clip plane is a fundamental limitation of the engine.

You're right...
I'm probably saying something completely no-sense, mainly because I don't know SE's code, but, what abot making collisions, based on the polygon of the terrain? (vertexes, planes, etc...) Is it possible to simulate a sort of raycast, or something like that?





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
SHWDate: Monday, 26.05.2014, 14:19 | Message # 8
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
but, what abot making collisions, based on the polygon of the terrain? (vertexes, planes, etc...)

Terrain does not exist in system memory, it lives in video memory. So, it is quite tricky to use it in physics.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
SanoconDate: Thursday, 29.05.2014, 07:17 | Message # 9
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
Quote SHW ()

Terrain does not exist in system memory, it lives in video memory. So, it is quite tricky to use it in physics.


i thought a physics engine would be mostly in video memory. because in the most effective physics algorithem, it's using the object's normals to calculate the distance between objects.
 
SpaceMausiDate: Wednesday, 16.07.2014, 20:05 | Message # 10
Observer
Group: Newbies
Luxembourg
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
I'm not so interested in walking because moving around takes ages, BUT if it could be done so that the gravity of the planet would be taken into account, it might add something of value to the game. You know, giant leaps and so on.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 17.07.2014, 18:58 | Message # 11
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Sanocon ()
i thought a physics engine would be mostly in video memory. because in the most effective physics algorithem, it's using the object's normals to calculate the distance between objects.

You are wrong.





 
Destructor1701Date: Thursday, 17.07.2014, 19:24 | Message # 12
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 533
Status: Offline
I think most of the requesters are over-thinking this. I know it might feel weird in the Rift, or fail to do justice to the scale of the terrain, but the clipping plane doesn't need to be tackled first...

Heck, even if our "head height" is locked at 15 metres or something over the terrain, it'd just be a nice additional camera behaviour mode to have. Nothing too involved, just horizon-locked camera orientation, and scroll-wheel controlled movement speed. If you're feeling kinky, chuck in a movement-speed-related jump on the ascent key, with a simple gravity-dependent parabolic trajectory.

I just think a walk mode would be really nice on the surface of a body. Rationalise the height as "I'm inside an invisible mech", or "I'm a very-tall alien", or "I'm a genetically-engineered hyper-Giraffe!".







Edited by Destructor1701 - Thursday, 17.07.2014, 19:25
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Walk/run camera mode (Being able to walk or run around on planets!)
Page 1 of 11
Search: