ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » More Frames after changing Nvidia Settings (Nvidia Settings changes can improve performance dramatically)
More Frames after changing Nvidia Settings
engelralfDate: Tuesday, 11.11.2014, 14:14 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Hi,
I installed space engine on my dell xps i7 with the nvidia m550 with the 285.77 driver.
Performance was very poor, and I wondered a lot since I get awesome frame rates on GTA4 and FSX with terrain packages for europe and usa (frames up to 40, in general above 30)
I updated drivers and tried the Nvidia fix (on this forum) but frame rates when closed to planets where like 2-4, and the little "loading from disc" circle woud spin for ever, eventhough my default landscape lod was -2.
I went into the nvidia configuration and had a look, luckyly we can adjust settings for specific games on nvidia cards.
In program configuration I added spaceengine.exe and then I changed (without knowing what I was doing smile

(sorry about the bad translation from spanish of these settings)
multi screen gpu to compatibility
antialiasing config to 2x
antialiasing mode to improve application configuration
gamma correction activated
antialiasing tansparence activated
cuda - global
anisotropic filter controled by application
texture filters quality, global settings
texture filter, difference... allow
texture filters, difference anisot... deactivated
texture filters, trilenal optimization global config (activated)
energy control, maximum rendimento
max nº fotograms, global config (3)
vertical sinc, use application settings
texture filter - anisot... optimization deactivated
triple buffer activated

to my surprise the game loaded in one 10th of the time, poped right onto the planet, when I swing over a planet I get a good 20 frames, I can no fly everywhere in LOD0 without stuttering, loading spinns but doesn't cut framerates anymore.

I'm sure an expert could finetune these settings to get even more out of the sim, but for a start I am completeley satisfied and will now learn how to fly spaceships smile
hope this helps people with 2 video cards on laptops where one is the Nvidia


Edited by engelralf - Tuesday, 11.11.2014, 14:15
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.11.2014, 15:18 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote engelralf ()
antialiasing config to 2x
antialiasing mode to improve application configuration

These should have no effect.

Quote engelralf ()
triple buffer activated

Generally you should not use this unless also using v-sync (by default, vsync in SE is "auto", which means it's off if your framerate is less than your monitor's refresh rate, or maybe less than 60 fps, not sure which).

Most of the rest of those options look like default options.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
engelralfDate: Tuesday, 11.11.2014, 15:52 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Most of the rest of those options look like default options.


I'll have a look at triple buffer, and just to add this, before my game stuttered and crashed very often.
I just plaid for 2 hours, hardly any stuttering and 0 crashes, so it must have some effect, I guess it's the beginners luck.
I'll fine tune over time, and maybe try and make a video so you can check it out...
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.11.2014, 15:54 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
I also noticed that you're using very old drivers. Is there a specific reason, or do you just not feel like upgrading?




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
engelralfDate: Wednesday, 12.11.2014, 08:53 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
i went to dell to update my drivers using my service tag and the driver that i use currently is the latest one they provide for my machine, when i try to install drivers from nvidia directly, my computer says: nvidia hardware not found, i once circumvented this issue by editing some files but it's way to much hazzle and all my games work great with the given setup.

of course if u got any suggestions, i'd be happy to try to squeeze even more frames out of my laptop smile that is after all why i bought it, for the stutterfree high fps gaming fun smile
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » More Frames after changing Nvidia Settings (Nvidia Settings changes can improve performance dramatically)
Page 1 of 11
Search: