ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
isdebeslDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 08:36 | Message # 1096
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Indonesia
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
For some reason there is no texture on Pluto and Charon, how do i fix it?
 
DarkenTerraDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 08:55 | Message # 1097
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
Quote gazelle ()
That's perfectly normal. Average accretion disk spins very, very fast. (About 0.6c)


Now I see,but why they are so big and so bright? It hindered my view cry





Who am I ?
 
WatsisnameDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 10:32 | Message # 1098
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2613
Status: Offline
Quote DarkenTerra ()
Why the accretion disks in my SE are always extremly big and spin extremly fast? Is this a bug or something?


Think of it this way -- the material in a black hole accretion disk is moving at a large fraction of the speed of light. If the black hole is small (stellar mass black holes are only a few kilometers across), then the stuff in the disk will orbit many times each second! But if it's a supermassive black hole, then it might take hours to orbit once.

So if you want the disk's spin to seem slower, then look for bigger black holes, like those at the center of globular clusters or galaxies.

Quote DarkenTerra ()
Now I see,but why they are so big and so bright? It hindered my view


That's just how the reality is! Accretion disks are extremely hot and bright. smile If you actually were to visit one in nature, you would really struggle to see the tiny black spot in the center. However, in SE you have some tools. You can reduce the thermal emission (Ctrl+F4), and the camera exposure (,).





 
ZatSoloDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 11:51 | Message # 1099
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Known issues:
This patch did not tested on XP (sorry, Win7 update broke XP loader somehow on my computer) ...


First, thank you so much. ^_^

Just tested on my 2 PC (Seven, XP). It runs perfect on "Seven Pro 64" but trying with XP I get this message everytime I try to start the .EXE



Hope this may help you to find a solution for the XP users (China ? wink )

Attachments: 7058348.png(7.2 Kb)


Edited by ZatSolo - Friday, 01.01.2016, 11:53
 
n0b0dyDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 11:53 | Message # 1100
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote isdebesl ()
For some reason there is no texture on Pluto and Charon, how do i fix it?


I noticed that too. I opened Catalogs0974.pak and navigated to planets folder and opened solarsys.sc, scrolled down to pluto entry and saw this:


I then checked the textures\planets folder and noticed there is no path for ''pluto/Surface-FR'' nor for ''Pluto/Bump-FR'' entries in the solarsys.sc. I think that Spaceengineer must have missed to include them in the patch.zip with all the excitement and pressure to release before new years eve ;)

One temporary solution is to comment out the ''Diffmap'' and Bumbmap'' entries and uncomment the ''surfstyle and below'' until these textures become available...


Edited by n0b0dy - Friday, 01.01.2016, 11:55
 
DarkenTerraDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 13:27 | Message # 1101
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
Quote Watsisname ()
That's just how the reality is! Accretion disks are extremely hot and bright. If you actually were to visit one in nature, you would really struggle to see the tiny black spot in the center. However, in SE you have some tools. You can reduce the thermal emission (Ctrl+F4), and the camera exposure (,).


Thank you! smile





Who am I ?
 
r3dw1ngDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 14:23 | Message # 1102
Observer
Group: Newbies
France
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Nice work as always !!
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 14:40 | Message # 1103
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote Retsof ()
So could a "ship" that looks like a building, or even a city, be placed on the surface for cool scenes now?

Same reasoning here, I bet someone will try that very soon.
I managed to use a workstation for a couple of hours yesterday, some i7 with Nvidia Quadro and 16GB RAM, and the patch worked with no flaws for what I tried, except that some notable procedural places were no more available.
Sagittarius A is gorgeous.
happy new year to all and to you SpaceEngineer!





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
r3dw1ngDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 15:38 | Message # 1104
Observer
Group: Newbies
France
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I have a strange issue, I am at LOD 0.9 and the loading time of the clouds is much longer than the loading time of the land. I have tried both loading systems, my video ram is almost full (4gb), and in some places I have endless loads.
 
Lynk101Date: Friday, 01.01.2016, 15:46 | Message # 1105
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Quote Lynk101 ()
Fair enough. It didnt come with a log, I moved, copied and replaced the space engine files with the new one. The version I had was an earlier version of 0.9.7.4 (patch 07). Patch 07 after installing patch 08 remained the same

Is there any more information you need?
 
huishbDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 17:10 | Message # 1106
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Spaceengineer, I have a question regarding the accretion disks. I've noticed that the accretion disks look different in the development pictures. The ones in the pictures look more cloudy and get more wispy at the center...but in the patch release they look stretched like rings around a planet. Why is this? Or maybe it's just the ones I saw, maybe there are different textures? Also, are they animated? When I was studying Sagittarius *A, I think I saw the accretion disk change. Am I wrong? Or are they animated?




Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
 
n0b0dyDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 19:21 | Message # 1107
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Is it possible to disable/enable the shipwarp effect with a console command?

Edited by n0b0dy - Friday, 01.01.2016, 19:22
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 19:46 | Message # 1108
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote Rigel ()
2. It is impossible to move to the speed limit.

For example
If the speed limit is 100 ly/s, I can only moving half as much as it (about 50 ly/s).

Hmm. I think fixing this somehow unfixed this same issue that was previously occurring in Airplane mode. In Patch 7, Airplane mode had a consistent speed limit. In patch 8, this is no longer true, where free mode now has that consistent speed. Is it possible to fix this issue for both Free mode and Aircraft mode, so they both maintain consistency in keeping to the speed limits?





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
RedRuinDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 19:47 | Message # 1109
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Lynk101, Look in your "system" directory in your SE instillation. A log file is created and overwritten every time you launch SE, so the file is probably in there. It should look something like the image attached:
Attachments: 1480068.png(99.5 Kb)
 
the_nerervarineDate: Friday, 01.01.2016, 20:09 | Message # 1110
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I found this galaxy with more nebula then stars.
*Edit
As soon as a started Space Engine again all the nebula were gone and the galaxy seemed properly populated again.

Attachments: 8337926.jpg(190.5 Kb)





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

Edited by the_nerervarine - Friday, 01.01.2016, 20:14
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: