ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 01:40 | Message # 571
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
You can see as I creep up the second galaxy, getting as close as I dare to without crashing, the frames drop to 20,

Dwarf galaxies always seem to have some issue or other, that's one reason I usually avoid them in favor of larger galaxies. Extreme star density seems to be a common problem.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 02:19 | Message # 572
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
RedRuin and HarbingerDawn, I think you may be right. Out of a sample of about 20 all the affected were below 13 kly anything above 15 kly is fine.

Edited by Bells_Theorem - Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 03:45
 
n0b0dyDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 06:47 | Message # 573
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Bells_Theorem, try reducing overbright setting to 1. Thats the 1st thing I do when I install a new patch.
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 10:49 | Message # 574
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
RedRuin and HarbingerDawn, I think you may be right. Out of a sample of about 20 all the affected were below 13 kly anything above 15 kly is fine.

I think one reason may be that there are far too many stars in dwarf galaxies.

If I go to the center, I get in a search radius of one parsec,
. Milkyway = 363
. Andromeda Nebula = 206
. RG 0-9-74298155-255 = 7175 (Bells_Theorem example)
. RG 0-8-9287271-1363 = 5434
stars.

Maybe an automatic reduction in the brightness of stars could help.
Quote JackDole ()
I suggest to introduce a function "Auto decrease stars magnitude"





Don't forget to look here.

 
SlamminKhanDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 14:19 | Message # 575
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
When I install 0.9.7.4 it crashes upon startup, however 0.9.7.3 works just fine. I tried making some adjustments to the files but I couldn't seem to make it work past the loading window, which I could get working by changing main.cfg. I use an ASUS Windows 8 laptop, and requirements are met. Any help?
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 14:24 | Message # 576
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
SlamminKhan
post your se.log. Its in the SpaceEngine\system folder.





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 15:05
 
SlamminKhanDate: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 18:22 | Message # 577
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
Here it is
Attachments: crash.log(0.3 Kb)
 
Donatelo200Date: Tuesday, 06.10.2015, 18:50 | Message # 578
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
Do you have an intel HD graphics card?




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 18:17 | Message # 579
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
In the version 0.974.6 it sometimes happens that the GUI elements are invisible. They are still there, can be operated, but can not be seen. Is that a known issue?

And sometimes happens that: (also already in the previous version)


Attachments: 2386870.jpg(69.2 Kb) · 5029757.log(90.8 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 18:21
 
PrzeszczepDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 19:52 | Message # 580
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Poland
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Tails of planets close to stars are trimmed when viewed from bigger distances.







CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K | GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 970 | RAM: 8 GB
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 21:04 | Message # 581
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Are these green spots sandstorms?



These are atmospheric effects, if I disable the atmosphere, they disappear.



RS 1190-287-3-491-60 5

Attachments: 8029130.jpg(46.5 Kb) · 5272068.jpg(45.3 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
AlekDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 21:04 | Message # 582
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 326
Status: Offline
Quote Alek ()
Apparently something went wrong here because all the planets in Space Engine after downloading the new patch have now become atmosphere models and unsaturated, monocolor balls

Attachments: 4447784.log(46.5 Kb)





Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
AlekDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 21:07 | Message # 583
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 326
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Are these green spots sandstorms?



These are atmospheric effects, if I disable the atmosphere, they disappear.



RS 1190-287-3-491-60 5
Attachments: 8029130.jpg(46Kb) · 5272068.jpg(45Kb)


It's just that the atmosphere is low enough and the base ground is high enough that the only place you can see the atmosphere is in deep craters.





Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 21:55 | Message # 584
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote Alek ()
It's just that the atmosphere is low enough and the base ground is high enough that the only place you can see the atmosphere is in deep craters.

You're right. It is a 'Greenworld' model. The atmosphere is just 5.7 km of high, but has a pressure of 145.4 atm.



Quote Alek ()
monocolor balls

Your problem is the obsolete Nvidia graphics card driver.

Attachments: 0645266.jpg(151.3 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
AlekDate: Wednesday, 07.10.2015, 22:36 | Message # 585
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 326
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
You're right. It is a 'Greenworld' model. The atmosphere is just 5.7 km of high, but has a pressure of 145.4 atm.


Very strange...

Quote JackDole ()
Your problem is the obsolete Nvidia graphics card driver.


Okay, I'll install a newer version asap





Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: