ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
VilfateDate: Friday, 14.08.2015, 21:16 | Message # 391
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Quote
Is it just me, or are Barycenters glowing?

I've been reporting this bug since 974 beta 2, and that time I felt quite surprised since this bug WAS solved by a tecnical hack in 972 release.





 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Saturday, 15.08.2015, 02:59 | Message # 392
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Well that's just great. I updated my graphics drivers, and doing so broke space engine. Fantastic.



Computer Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400

EDIT: I booted and rebooted the game a few more times, and it seems to be a one time Error. It might be related to my task bar, which is on auto hide. THe game crashes on startup when the mouse is holding the taskbar up at least once a day, but other than that SE boots fine, normally.

-----

(Much later edit): I've noticed a bug with Oceanias, where the specular reflections will not show up until one gets closer to the Oceania, or until atmospheres are turned off.



SE.log is included in the zip, which has the place location and the screenshots.

Attachments: 2801033.jpg(79.5 Kb) · 0591720.zip(153.5 Kb) · bugs6.zip(463.9 Kb) · 8213539.jpg(197.5 Kb)





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Sunday, 16.08.2015, 23:14
 
AdiabatDate: Sunday, 16.08.2015, 08:07 | Message # 393
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Hi SpaceEngineer!

Not sure either where to post that or open a new thread as it is only one question and maybe off-topic as well.
I'm sure you are aware of the hyper hyped No Man's Sky game. I was wondering if you plan to arrive or to approach such a level of detail on planet with life... Dense grass, under water life, different fauna and flora species, etc.

This is maybe the more impressive thing of that product, and only that. Because for the rest, they seem to somewhat mislead people when talking about the all universe simulated when they are only showing what they called the galaxy with a bright center where the player is invited to go... That's odd.

I guess the procedural tech under the hood is quite similar to what you have coded in Space Engine, but strangely their planets don't seem to have a great variety of terrains like in SE (at least the few they have showed). They don't feel real from orbit...
Well hope there no No Man's Sky fans here biggrin

Side question: will you update Pluto/Charon visuals soon? I mean even only with the general picture of the planet on New Horizons approach (which is beautiful) and completing the other side of Pluto by procedural generation (same for Charon)... Would be nice.

Have a good day!
Dave.
 
Tca_11aDate: Sunday, 23.08.2015, 13:13 | Message # 394
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
I seem to be unable to launch the game without an internet connection. Is this a bug or just me?

You don't need any type of connectivity to run the engine.
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 23.08.2015, 15:14 | Message # 395
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
I seem to be unable to launch the game without an internet connection. Is this a bug or just me?

What...? That's... weird, I mean, that must be an O.S. problem.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
ZefnolyDate: Monday, 24.08.2015, 11:54 | Message # 396
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 38
Status: Offline
Hmmm... need to check this out. But is there any news about those acreation rings around black holes? are they going to look similiar to those in Interstellar movie? Do those black holes emit light like stars? When do you think they are going to be added?




A creature from a planet found far on the other side of Milkyway, found on a planet orbiting a gas giant.
 
InariusDate: Monday, 24.08.2015, 12:36 | Message # 397
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 237
Status: Offline
@Zefnoly : Accretion disk of black hole is not very realistic in Interstellar (even if it's very nicely rendered). There, is, for example, no asymmetry in the light produced (which should be very high, considered what we know about it with the position of the planet). Moreover, the light should be more red, where is it nearly blue in the movie.

For more information about black light and light emission, you should read more about it (even wikipedia page should be enough). The answer is "it depends".
 
ZefnolyDate: Monday, 24.08.2015, 13:37 | Message # 398
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 38
Status: Offline
Quote Inarius ()
@Zefnoly : Accretion disk of black hole is not very realistic in Interstellar (even if it's very nicely rendered). There, is, for example, no asymmetry in the light produced (which should be very high, considered what we know about it with the position of the planet). Moreover, the light should be more red, where is it nearly blue in the movie.

For more information about black light and light emission, you should read more about it (even wikipedia page should be enough). The answer is "it depends".

Yes I know most of that. have been reading lots of stuff about black holes. Have seen the beta pictures of how they was planning the black hole in interstellar to look like aswell (it was actually going to be red, they changed it because they wanted it to look nicer). But it is not unrealistic for those to have glowing rings. particles trapped so close to something that gravity pulling would make friction, enough to heat those rings to glow. But not as strong and bright as in interstellar





A creature from a planet found far on the other side of Milkyway, found on a planet orbiting a gas giant.
 
InariusDate: Monday, 24.08.2015, 19:30 | Message # 399
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 237
Status: Offline
I agree. About brightness, well, considering the temperature around this particular BH, we can suppose it would be very very bright, but not perhaps in visible colors.
 
Brett001Date: Monday, 24.08.2015, 20:42 | Message # 400
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 84
Status: Offline
What is it that sometimes the gas giant's atmosphere patterns disappears? Only monochrome (without clouds , spots) , looks like a billiard ball. If you exit the program and restart, then SE works well again.

My VGA: AMD Radeon R7 250X 1GB


Edited by Brett001 - Monday, 24.08.2015, 20:46
 
n0b0dyDate: Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 06:51 | Message # 401
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
While in spacecraft control mode (4) How do we set Target to None after selecting a target in latest 05 patch ?

Edited by n0b0dy - Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 07:42
 
RajDate: Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 07:06 | Message # 402
Observer
Group: Newbies
India
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hello Space Engineer. I am still facing a problem opening SE in windows XP. I think it was a compatibility issue in windows XP from 0.9.7.2 which was said to be corrected in 0.9.7.3. But for some reason doesn't work for me. I installed 0.9.7.2, then downloaded 0.9.7.3 and installed it as directed in the instructions but it doesn't work cry . For my satisfaction I also downloaded 0.9.7.4 beta and copied it in SE appropriately but no luck. Here is a Screenshot of the error message that appears when I start SE.
Attachments: 2084730.jpg(173.7 Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 09:31 | Message # 403
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Strange, on my XP all is working...




 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 09:32 | Message # 404
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
WIP: splashing docking corridor






 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 10:17 | Message # 405
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
That is quite awesome.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: