ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SpaceHopperDate: Wednesday, 27.07.2016, 23:51 | Message # 3226
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Added procedural Wolf-Rayet, Carbon and Circonium stars

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Fixed too hot planets in T and Y brown dwarf systems

Sanctuary much for those!

But what exactly does this mean?
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Fixed terra moons of planemo





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 28.07.2016, 07:44 | Message # 3227
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Taciturn_Artist ()
Hello i dont know if this is a bug or intentional but the mode button is missing from my ship hud.
Picture here below

It doesn't needed anymore, because ships now automatically switch physics computing method. If you left ship on a stable orbit, it will stay there forever like a moon. There is a bug though: if you accelerate time too much, it may crash into planet.

Quote SpaceHopper ()
But what exactly does this mean?
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Fixed terra moons of planemo

Some planemos had terra moons, which is (probably) not possible in reality.





 
9876543210Date: Thursday, 28.07.2016, 10:27 | Message # 3228
Observer
Group: Newbies
Norway
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Bugs! Such as effective temperature of non-stellar objects limited to 926.85C, age limited to maximum (stars: 12.1billion years) (galaxies: 10.87 billion years), size of galaxis limited to 326.16 kly. I hopen you can fix this unrealistic limitations in the next version!
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 28.07.2016, 12:52 | Message # 3229
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Is it intended that the 'Precession' now turns the other way around? Or is this a bug?

In SE 0.974 RC3, my space stations suddenly looked like this:



After I changed the values for the 'Precession' of the gondolas, from plus to minus and vice versa, the space station was normal again.



(Well, almost anyway, there are other problems.)

Attachments: 5245535.jpg(0.0 Kb) · 6959642.jpg(0.0 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 28.07.2016, 12:57 | Message # 3230
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote 9876543210 ()
Bugs! Such as effective temperature of non-stellar objects limited to 926.85C, age limited to maximum (stars: 12.1billion years) (galaxies: 10.87 billion years), size of galaxis limited to 326.16 kly. I hopen you can fix this unrealistic limitations in the next version!

As yourself pointed out, these are not bugs, but limitations to the program, some if not all of them chosen by design in order to cope with minimum hardware specifications, programming language characteristics... Spaceengineer often said that in order to avoid some of them, big parts of the program should be completely rewritten, so don't expect a fix to those "unrealistic" limitations for a while.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Thursday, 28.07.2016, 12:58
 
gamadhDate: Thursday, 28.07.2016, 19:26 | Message # 3231
Observer
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
great job with space engine,but to ask , intelligent life is possible within space engine?

Edited by gamadh - Thursday, 28.07.2016, 19:27
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Friday, 29.07.2016, 00:00 | Message # 3232
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Some planemos had terra moons, which is (probably) not possible in reality.

I can understand preventing outer moons from becoming terras, since tidal heating is miniscules, but might close in inner moons have enough tidal heating for a dense atmosphere and liquid water?





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
AlekDate: Friday, 29.07.2016, 00:50 | Message # 3233
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 326
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
can understand preventing outer moons from becoming terras, since tidal heating is miniscules, but might close in inner moons have enough tidal heating for a dense atmosphere and liquid water?


Exactly. If nothing else, make them rare, as it would have to be very close and have a ton of geological activity but it is possible.





Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 29.07.2016, 15:10 | Message # 3234
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Inspired by my recent kayak hike, and looking on a work of Spock1108, I made my version of semi-realistic-semi-fake terrain model of Titan. It have 16k resolution near poles, where famous seas and lakes of liquid hydrocarbons can be found.

Near the north pole: the Kraken Mare (the largest double-shaped sea at the top, the Seldon Fretum dividing it into two bodies), the Ligeia Mare (bottom), the Punga Mare (to the right) and numerious lakes.



Near south pole: Ontario Lacus (to the left) and other lakes.



Titan without clouds:



Shores of the Kraken Mare with Saturn in the sky (like if there were no clouds):



Sailng through the Seldon Fretum in the Kraken Mare:



The original map where seas and lakes are visible have resolution of 12k x 6k, while there more hi-res images of some areas exist. Maybe in the future, when the new hi-res global map will be released by NASA, I will update this fake elevation map.

From the surface, resolution is very low (of course - the map is just 8-16k), and some artefacts are visible - not precise transition from land to water liquid methane. This will be solved when procedural terrain refinement will be implemented.

Attachments: 4356114.jpg(84.6 Kb) · 6362634.jpg(56.1 Kb) · 4215489.jpg(53.7 Kb) · 0780077.jpg(45.0 Kb) · 6987275.jpg(98.8 Kb)





 
steeljaw354Date: Friday, 29.07.2016, 18:59 | Message # 3235
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Will it be in the next update?
 
RolyManDate: Friday, 29.07.2016, 22:02 | Message # 3236
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Installed on windows 10. It loads everything, then crashes. I attached the log.
Attachments: 9862508.log(44.0 Kb)
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 29.07.2016, 23:12 | Message # 3237
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Nvidia graphics drivers 353.82 you're using are one year old, latest drivers for your notebook are 368.81, these are for Windows 10 64bit. You could try updating to see if it works.




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
Player1Date: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 04:10 | Message # 3238
Astronaut
Group: Users
Mexico
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Quote RolyMan ()
Installed on windows 10. It loads everything, then crashes.


Happens the same to me, but I last 30 seconds before crashing (I put my ships in the game exactly as I left them in the RC2 and tried to find them slowly).

Here's the .log file...

Ignore the traslation miss, please XD

Attachments: 7219330.log(71.4 Kb)





"We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt"
-Joseph Cooper, "Interstellar"


Edited by Player1 - Saturday, 30.07.2016, 04:13
 
n0b0dyDate: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 09:13 | Message # 3239
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Inspired by my recent kayak hike, and looking on a work of Spock1108, I made my version of semi-realistic-semi-fake terrain model of Titan.

Quote steeljaw354 ()
Will it be in the next update?


cry please cry
 
quarior14Date: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 12:18 | Message # 3240
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 649
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, beautiful and good work.
Also, is this the display problem of planets and ships that become invisible will be resolved ?
Ah unless it's this but I did not understand exactly this bug :
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Fixed a bug with not showing of a planets if system's center wasn't in the field of view at least once


And what is this bug ?
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Fixed a bug with shimmering of comet tail sprites


Quote steeljaw354 ()
Will it be in the next update?

Quote n0b0dy ()
please

I think this is likely (for the new map of Titan).

I also propose to choose another repository that can be chosen for the systems by
Code
Center "Milkay Way" //for example
instead it is always the Sun the center.





Quarior
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: