ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
FastFourierTransformDate: Saturday, 16.07.2016, 21:08 | Message # 3121
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 542
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceHopper ()
but what's the last word you mistyped supposed to be?

"counter" probably, since his fingers slipped in the same direction on the two previous words


Edited by FastFourierTransform - Saturday, 16.07.2016, 21:08
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 16.07.2016, 21:49 | Message # 3122
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote Voekoevaka ()
I tried to place myself at 1UA from Deneb, but I noticed a glitvh on the altitufr vounyrt : it jumps from 0.11 to 1.10.

I do not know what this 'vounyrt' caused - the word which should stand there, in my opinion, is 'hauteur' = height.

What is meant is this:
If one tries to approach to one astronomical unit to Deneb, the value jumped suddenly from 1.12 AU to 0.11 AU. And back when you move back.




This is not a glitch.
These are two different values.
The first is the distance to the center of Deneb, the second is the height above the surface of Deneb.

When approaching an object at a certain distance, this value changes from distance to height (hauteur).



Quote FastFourierTransform ()
"counter" probably, since his fingers slipped in the same direction on the two previous words

Probably 'counter' is correct. 'altitude counter' !

Attachments: 0570476.jpg(70.6 Kb) · 4658594.jpg(70.2 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Saturday, 16.07.2016, 22:53
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Sunday, 17.07.2016, 00:16 | Message # 3123
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
I have noticed that when world building, if you add craters to a terra with low surface relief that previously did not have craters, and dont change anything else, the sea level will drop, even though you didn't change anything else on the terra except adding craters.

For example, my own terraformed Pluto uses the old procedural parameters from the last version of SE to use a procedural surface before the Pluto cubemaps were added, with a BumpHeight of 7.3528 and an arbitrary Offset of 4 (so 4 km oceans to add to the 11,000 foot montes found by New Horizons), and an Ocean Height of 4 km to match the offset. Without craters, in RC3 at least, TF pluto is pretty watery. When I add the craters, the ocean level drops, resulting in larger continents with more rivers (my RC3 uses Rodrigos and mine terrain mods).

Are the craters inadvertently deepening the terrain offsets somehow, or is this an intended normal for RC 3?





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
peytonious12Date: Sunday, 17.07.2016, 01:13 | Message # 3124
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I'm really enjoying it. I saw a poll on the site which was in favor for adding planetary features such as rocks and stuff like that, which I am really excited to possibly see in the future. I think this is a good extension.
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 15:51 | Message # 3125
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
I've been trying out the new version, and have gotten everything working with almost no problem (couple of graphics glitches, such as my custom system's primary being a flat disc, but they seem to be spurious and tend to go away when my low-end but fairly modern nVidia/Zotac 550ti catches up).

I do have a question, though. If it's already been answered, I apologize.

When putting custom textures on a planet, can they be done as cylindrical/spherical projected .png or do they still have to be cubic projection .raw files?





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)


Edited by admiralsirjohn - Monday, 18.07.2016, 16:02
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 16:36 | Message # 3126
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote admiralsirjohn ()
When putting custom textures on a planet, can they be done as cylindrical/spherical projected .png

You can use cylindrical textures, in this form:

Code

    Surface
    {
        DiffMap        "surface_diff.*"
        DiffMapAlpha   "Water"

        BumpMap        "surface_bump.*"
        BumpHeight      19.475
        BumpOffset      10.896

        GlowMap        "night_light.*"
        GlowMode       "Night"
        GlowColor      (1.00 0.90 0.66)
        GlowBright      1.0
    }



But if you want higher resolutions and real bump mapping, you should use CubeMaps.

How this works is described here: MOD - Creating custom textures for planets 0.97

There you will find also the necessary tools.





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 18:29 | Message # 3127
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Okay, thanks. I probably won't need super-high resolution, so cylindrical maps should work fine.

I assume since it's not listed, I won't need an actual surface color map?





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 19:06 | Message # 3128
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
You need a 'surface_diff' map, like this:



A bump map would also be good. But is not necessary.
Also you should set 'NoOcean true', otherwise it may happen, the planet will be flooded. If it is a 'Terra'.

Code

    Surface
    {
        DiffMap         "surface_diff.*"
        DiffMapAlpha    "Water"
        BumpMap         "surface_bump.*"
    }
    
    NoOcean         true

Attachments: 1872563.jpg(464.5 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 19:12 | Message # 3129
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Ah, okay. That's what Lightwave calls a surface color map. I was thinking an alpha map combined with a bump map would allow for a semi-procedural ground texture. Thanks for the clarification.

I'll be putting this one on Intar:



With this bump map:



And this city lights map:



I'll use the default/procedural textures for the atmosphere.

Attachments: 4898169.jpg(412.1 Kb) · 6685870.png(238.6 Kb) · 5815476.png(10.2 Kb)





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)


Edited by admiralsirjohn - Monday, 18.07.2016, 19:16
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 19:58 | Message # 3130
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Doesn't seem to be working...


Attachments: 0733119.jpg(330.4 Kb)





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)


Edited by admiralsirjohn - Monday, 18.07.2016, 20:00
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 20:18 | Message # 3131
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
For me it works!



The textures should always be powers of 2 !
For example, 1024 x 512 or 2048 x 1024.

Attachments: 4040986.jpg(224.1 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 20:23 | Message # 3132
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Ah, okay. I'll have to resize.

Thanks again!





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 20:39 | Message # 3133
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
Still not working for me. I think I messed up the code a bit...

Code
Planet    "Intar/Intar Stelis 4"

{
    
    ParentBody     "Intar Stelis"
    
    Class        "Terra"

    
    Mass            1.516
    
    Radius          7300.699
    
    InertiaMoment   0.3299899

    
    Oblateness      0.01161207

    
    RotationPeriod  27.12
    
    Obliquity       26    
    EqAscendNode    282.4939

    
    Albedo          0.3570188
    
    Brightness      2
    
    Color          (0.711 0.753 0.970)

    

    Life
    
    {
  
  Class   "Organic"
  
  Type    "Multicellular"
  
  Biome   "Terrestrial"
  
  Panspermia "true"
    
    }

    

    Surface
    
    {
  
  DiffMap  "Intar-land.png"
  DiffMapAlpha    "Water"
  
  BumpMap  "Intar-bump.png"
  BumpHeight      19.475
  
  BumpOffset      10.896

  GlowMap  "Intar-cities.png"
  GlowMode    "Night"
  GlowColor      (1.00 0.90 0.66)
         GlowBright      1.0
    }

    
    Clouds
    
    {
  
  Height          1.984863
  
  BumpHeight      6.165912
  
  Hapke           0.2
  
  SpotBright      2
  
  SpotWidth       0.15
  
  DayAmbient      2
  
  mainFreq        1.060631
  
  mainOctaves     10
  
  Coverage        0.2616979
  
  twistZones      2.007983
  
  twistMagn       0
    
    }

    
    
    NoLava          true

    
    Atmosphere
    
    {
  
  Model          "Earth"
  
  Height          58.51548
  
  Density         0.3657133
  
  Pressure        1.13
  
  Bright          12.96069
  
  Opacity         1
  
  SkyLight        4.32023
    
    }

    
    Aurora
    
    {
  
  Height      180.224
  
  NorthLat    75.07257
  
  NorthLon    151.2161
  
  NorthRadius 2116.763
  
  NorthWidth  1939.483
  
  NorthRings  4
  
  NorthBright 0.3
  
  NorthParticles 50000
  
  SouthLat    -90
  
  SouthLon    328.6011
  
  SouthRadius 1993.161
  
  SouthWidth  1209.058
  
  SouthRings  6
  
  SouthBright 0.3
  
  SouthParticles 50000
  
  TopColor    (1.000 1.000 1.000)
  
  BottomColor (0.000 1.000 0.000)
    
    }

    
    NoRings         true

    
    NoCometTail     true

    
    NoOcean  true

    Orbit
    
    {
  
  SemiMajorAxis   1.074
  
  Period          1.3429
  
  Eccentricity    0.008
  
  Inclination     0
  
  AscendingNode   283.9248
  
  ArgOfPericenter 56.67492
  
  MeanAnomaly     225.9741
  
  RefPlane       "Ecliptic"
    
}
}






John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 21:29 | Message # 3134
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
For me it works.



Do you have the textures in the folder 'addons\textures\planets'?
They can also be in 'data\textures\planets', but better is the first version.
In addition, the names of the files are case sensitive. You must pay close attention to uppercase and lowercase in the name of the textures.

Attachments: 9383445.jpg(405.6 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
admiralsirjohnDate: Monday, 18.07.2016, 21:37 | Message # 3135
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
I have them in 'data\textures\planets'.

Let me copy them into addons, and I'll report back.





John H. Harris
Lightwave user, Trekkie, and wannabe Hugo Award winner.
(Ah, who am I kidding...?)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: