ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
PlutonianEmpireDate: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 18:34 | Message # 2791
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
To those trying to argue with SE about the volcanoes, you forgot about Hawaii. :P

Hawaii is pretty much a chain of "textbook" Space Engine shield volcanoes, and out in the middle of nowhere too! biggrin

Granted volcanoes do tend to cluster, but there are some things that might be beyond the ability of the game to generate, AFAIK.





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
SolarLinerDate: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 18:36 | Message # 2792
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Bugs I've found during a 1h30 - 2h session on a clean install of the RC2:
Cannot confirm deletion of a spaceship:


Lens Flares on mode "Simple" do not occlude on ships, whereas "Normal" mode does:


Autopilots updates their target rotation vectors only periodically instead of continuously, which causes to begin a "Benny Hill" style tracking when the target is moving (especially true during both "Fly" go to and "Hyperjump" go to, where the autopilot cancels relative velocity).





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
IdgeliosDate: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 19:09 | Message # 2793
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
why is clustering or chaining volcanoes hard for the engine to generate? Why would it be any harder than the means to generate star clusters?

Edited by Idgelios - Sunday, 12.06.2016, 19:10
 
sinsforealDate: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 19:24 | Message # 2794
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
SolarLiner, Can you include a space engine log report?




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 20:06 | Message # 2795
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Snowfall ()
what about binary planets with moon systems around them soon?

Added just yesterday :)

Quote SolarLiner ()
Cannot confirm deletion of a spaceship:

Fixed.

Quote SolarLiner ()
Lens Flares on mode "Simple" do not occlude on ships, whereas "Normal" mode does:

Not a bug. This is why this mode called "simple". It takes into account only planet disk analytically, ignoring landscape.

Quote SolarLiner ()
Autopilots updates their target rotation vectors only periodically instead of continuously

Fixed.

Quote Idgelios ()
why is clustering or chaining volcanoes hard for the engine to generate? Why would it be any harder than the means to generate star clusters?

Because planet terrain generation working with pixels, not with entire objects like star generator. Terrain generator shader don't know anything about neighbouring pixels, it knows only coordinates of the currently generating pixel. If you tried to create some mask which will suppress volcano generation in some regions, you will end up with cut volcanoes.





 
SpaceHopperDate: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 20:31 | Message # 2796
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
Thanks for creating rogue planets. And speaking of rogue planets, do you think there's ever a way anybody can create a spaceship that has all the features of an exported procedural planet? That would be great if someone wanted to create Zonama Sekot from Star Wars, which is a living planet capable of making hyperspace jumps.




3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
steeljaw354Date: Sunday, 12.06.2016, 20:52 | Message # 2797
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, So when will this all be released to us? Any images of binary planets with moons?

Edited by steeljaw354 - Sunday, 12.06.2016, 22:02
 
SnowfallDate: Monday, 13.06.2016, 00:06 | Message # 2798
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 30
Status: Offline
Quote
Added just yesterday :)


cool stuff! = D





sorry for my dyslexia.

never stop imagining beautiful things.
 
AlekDate: Monday, 13.06.2016, 00:31 | Message # 2799
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 326
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Because planet terrain generation working with pixels, not with entire objects like star generator. Terrain generator shader don't know anything about neighbouring pixels, it knows only coordinates of the currently generating pixel. If you tried to create some mask which will suppress volcano generation in some regions, you will end up with cut volcanoes.


What about using a mask with a large blur effect to where neighboring volcanoes will be shorter/more similar to the terrain, almost like a form of height map except as a means of suppressing volcano generation (Say, white=no suppression while black=complete suppression and each shade of gray in between, based as a percentage of black, would give partial suppression, also resulting in volcanoes with one side having more of a slope than the other, which helps make them more unique) and have a map like this be randomly generated for each planet?





Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
grampiponDate: Monday, 13.06.2016, 05:58 | Message # 2800
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
More on the flat planet bug: I'm not just getting flat Terras in the latest Nvidia driver, but also flat deserts. Selenas and asteroids work fine.

EDIT: Ice worlds also work fine, but as far as I can see no tall mountains.


Edited by grampipon - Monday, 13.06.2016, 06:01
 
quarior14Date: Monday, 13.06.2016, 10:52 | Message # 2801
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 649
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()

Hurry to see this update (yes I am late more page) but where the screenshot was taken ? Sounds like one of my systems with yellow gas giant, unless it is only by chance.





Quarior
 
RedRuinDate: Wednesday, 15.06.2016, 03:44 | Message # 2802
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
As of RC2, aurora can be seen through surfaces where the aurora has not passed over the horizion.

Attachments: 2136604.log(79.3 Kb)


Edited by RedRuin - Wednesday, 15.06.2016, 03:49
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 15.06.2016, 09:38 | Message # 2803
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
RedRuin,
Do you have the location of this screenshot?





Don't forget to look here.

 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Thursday, 16.06.2016, 01:00 | Message # 2804
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
JackDole, by guessing this location it's RS 8476-1357-6-112248-73 6 as the other rocky planet doesn't have the atmosphere other the desert one which is too bright. I have no problems with the aurora going through surface on my Nvidia GTX 960.




NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Thursday, 16.06.2016, 01:01
 
RedRuinDate: Thursday, 16.06.2016, 03:00 | Message # 2805
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Whoops, my bad. Here are some better screenshots, with the planet actually selected. My bad.
The planet is an temperate oceania with frozen icecaps, which is the terrain in the foreground.



Attachments: 5479001.log(58.8 Kb)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: