ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SnowfallDate: Sunday, 05.06.2016, 22:02 | Message # 2716
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 30
Status: Offline
nice work SpaceEngineer. i do agree though with The_Blazer, the volcanoes look a bit isolated, also evenly spread everywhere with no geologic reason, but it seems like that with all the other features on planets i guess.

its nice to see some work on the gas giants though they are quite in need of some detail and twisting!





sorry for my dyslexia.

never stop imagining beautiful things.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 05.06.2016, 22:27 | Message # 2717
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceHopper ()
I exported this system and a constellation I'd found

How did you export the constellation? Did you mean the planetary system? Constellation is a section on the sky with all stars visible in it.

Quote SpaceHopper ()
there is (gasp!) z-fighting on the planets, which I thought had been completely eliminated.

This is not z-fighting, but eclipse shadow precision issue. It hasn't been eliminated.

Quote Snowfall ()
the volcanoes look a bit isolated, also evenly spread everywhere with no geologic reason

Look at volcano distribution on Mars. Not only prominent ones, but all volcanos.





 
SpaceHopperDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 01:18 | Message # 2718
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
How did you export the constellation?

I exported the locations and spectral types of the stars that outlined the constellation. But a few of their positions in the sky seem to have moved slightly. Can you tell me why?





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 08:50 | Message # 2719
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
If you're referring to stars with declination between 0 and -1 there's a known bug in RC2, fixed for the next update.




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
SalvoDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 09:23 | Message # 2720
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, it looks rather weird, but it's very interesting, I look forward to see how this goes. smile




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Monday, 06.06.2016, 09:25
 
KexittDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 09:30 | Message # 2721
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 398
Status: Offline
-




http://kexitt.deviantart.com/

Edited by Kexitt - Monday, 06.06.2016, 09:33
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 11:53 | Message # 2722
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Let's say I want to add the Coalsack Nebula (C 99), that's missing. It's a dark nebula, how do I define it in a script? I see only "diffuse" "planetary" or "SNR" (supernova remnants?). Should I use some tricks?




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 12:33 | Message # 2723
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
It should be a diffuse nebula with a custom model with only dust sprites.




 
simonecinque1992Date: Monday, 06.06.2016, 17:57 | Message # 2724
Pioneer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 470
Status: Offline
Code

WIP on a new gas giant, with no cut cyclones bug (I hope). Only basic texture, no cloud layers yet (I will change clouds system on gas giants completely). I still tweak this giant, attempting to achieve Jupiter-like appearance.

Turbulent cloud stripes:

With cyclones added:

Close-ups:



Wow! Can't wait to see it ingame :3





My Mods and Addons

Packard Bell
Windows 10 Pro
Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
4 GB
64 bit Operative System
 
AlainTDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 18:38 | Message # 2725
Observer
Group: Newbies
France
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Hello,

I'm a newcomer but, definitely, a great piece of software ! I started with 0.973. Worked very fine. I switched recently to 0.974 RC2 (reinstall from scratch). Evreythind is OK and works great, but :

- on "big" telluric worlds with atmosphere (deserts, terrae, etc.), over 7000~8000 km diameter (?), the relief seems to have disappeared. Only some rare little hills. On default places (Kepler 452b, successful panspermia...) , I have essentially flat grounds on planets (see pictures) :

I updated the graphic card driver recently (Nvidia 368.22)
No problem with other celestial bodies. Asteroids, little moons are fantastic !!!

Computer : core i5 [email protected] , 16GB RAM, SSD128GB+HDD 500GB, Geforce GTX660 2GB with latest 368.22 driver.

Best regards, and congratulations !
AlainT

Attachments: 4071439.jpg(453.2 Kb) · 7702564.jpg(316.7 Kb) · 2265017.jpg(240.6 Kb) · 1530822.jpg(309.0 Kb) · 3075852.jpg(314.2 Kb)
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 18:41 | Message # 2726
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Hello,

Quote AlainT ()
I updated the graphic card driver recently (Nvidia 368.22)

Those Nvidia drivers seem to be the problem, others had the same issue. Try an older driver.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
hanvulansiaDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 19:15 | Message # 2727
Observer
Group: Users
Spain
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
Shouldn't be like this in reality?

More massive worlds should have flatter terrain because of gravity
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 19:23 | Message # 2728
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
I think gravity has much less influence, if any at all, than tectonics, assuming those worlds are geologically active.
In this case, though, a change of graphic drivers should "move the mountains" biggrin





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
meegjaDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 20:42 | Message # 2729
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Quote hanvulansia ()
Shouldn't be like this in reality?

More massive worlds should have flatter terrain because of gravity


Maybe. But in this case it's about Nvidia drivers: the bit older ones (like the 362.0) are giving other results then the newest ones. With 362.0 there is more terrain height on terra and dessert planets. Also with the newest drivers some cloud cover disappears when you go near a planet/moon or go to it's surface.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
parameciumkidDate: Monday, 06.06.2016, 21:33 | Message # 2730
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Dessert planets sound delicious...




Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: