ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 181 of 221«12179180181182183220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Bells_TheoremDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 17:55 | Message # 2701
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
I think you can contend that a dwarf planet is a sub class of planet. I'm fine with calling them planets.
Quote Silicon ()
I think you can contend that a dwarf planet is a sub class of planet. I'm fine with calling them planets.


I think one can argue that a dwarf planet is just a sub class of planet. I'm fine with calling them planets.
 
SiliconDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 19:12 | Message # 2702
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 51
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
I think one can argue that a dwarf planet is just a sub class of planet.

No you can not. The IAU have specifically stated that dwarf planets are NOT a sub-class of planets.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped....ies.svg
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Thursday, 02.06.2016, 22:58 | Message # 2703
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()

No you can not. The IAU have specifically stated that dwarf planets are NOT a sub-class of planets.


Space Engine isn't bound by the IAU, nor does the IAU have the authority to dictate what can and cannot be argued, especially outside the realm of academia.

If Vladimir wants to classify them as planets for the purposes of this application, I'm fine with it. And I doubt the IAU will be calling.


Edited by Bells_Theorem - Thursday, 02.06.2016, 23:17
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 18:56 | Message # 2704
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
I working on the last major issues in 0.974 beta - broken volcano and cut cyclones. First is new volcano, WIP, but almost done:








Attachments: 6593864.jpg(283Kb) · 7992122.jpg(285Kb) · 4390051.jpg(266Kb) · 9704396.jpg(456Kb)





 
The_BlazerDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 19:27 | Message # 2705
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
new volcano


Those volcanos looks great! I really like all the little lava flows coming down from the first one. By the way, will volcanos be a little less... "isolated" in the next version? Right now they have a tendency to spawn completely alone in the middle of nowhere, instead of being included in mountain ranges and other features, which looks really weird.

Can't wait for RC3 (or release!)





Born too early to explore space... But just in time for Space Engine.

PC Specs:
GTX 770 (2GB VRAM) - i5 4570 - 8GB RAM
 
FireintheholeDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 20:02 | Message # 2706
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, now that's some very nice looking volcanoes! Nice to hear from you again, by the way. I was a little worried something happened to you. smile




Love SpaceEngine!
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 22:25 | Message # 2707
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote The_Blazer ()
By the way, will volcanos be a little less... "isolated" in the next version?

No. Generation algorithm doesn't allow this.

Quote Fireinthehole ()
I was a little worried something happened to you.

lol just a lot of moving from place to place.





 
Bells_TheoremDate: Friday, 03.06.2016, 22:59 | Message # 2708
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
The new volcanoes look awesome. Are the sizes and shape going to be varied? Will the ratio of dormant to active be based on the planet properties?
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 00:58 | Message # 2709
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 387
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I working on the last major issues in 0.974 beta - broken volcano and cut cyclones.


Does it mean the issue of the "contamination" of the parent star by an orbiting brown dwarf is solved?





They let me use this!
 
JCandeiasDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 01:02 | Message # 2710
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 387
Status: Offline
Quote JCandeias ()
Quote The_Blazer ()
By the way, will volcanos be a little less... "isolated" in the next version?

No. Generation algorithm doesn't allow this.


Hm... I see why it would be difficult to generate volcanos in mountain ranges without simulating tectonics, but hotspot clusters, at the first sight, shouldn't be too difficult to mimic.

(and these new volcanos do look great)





They let me use this!
 
SpaceHopperDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 16:02 | Message # 2711
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
I exported this system and a constellation I'd found (which I named "Karavis") visible from its planets from 0.971 into RC2, as I rather liked the constellation and system (which were all originally procedural). I was able to adjust some of the parameters to fit RC2 demands. However, when the two stars in the Sizeikto system "eclipse", there is (gasp!) z-fighting on the planets, which I thought had been completely eliminated.

I am posting the star and planet catalogs here if anyone wants to show me what I missed while updating the parameters.

Attachments: 4949758.jpg(271Kb) · Karavis.sc(3Kb)





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
SpaceHopperDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 16:03 | Message # 2712
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
Sorry, my planet catalog was just too big. Here it is, heavily "condensed".
Attachments: Sizeikto_planet.sc(23Kb)





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.


Edited by SpaceHopper - Saturday, 04.06.2016, 16:11
 
n0b0dyDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 17:08 | Message # 2713
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote Ettore_bilbo ()
I don't know if already reported but there's some problems with the latest update nvidia... RC2 shaders don't work properly.
RC1 instead seems to work well...
With RC2 I also noticed a decrease of fps.


Quote meegja ()
There is more: the textures of clouds on terra's is disappearing when coming closer. With older Nvidia drivers that is not happening. Now with the newer Nvidia drivers (including the one for the new GTX 1080 card), this is happening.
Like the post of Ettore_bilbo is showing, I have exactly the same


For Nvidia users: this driver works OK with SE 0974 RC2. At least it works for my setup (GTX 780, Win 7 64bit) smile .
 
meegjaDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 17:45 | Message # 2714
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Quote n0b0dy ()
For Nvidia users: this driver works OK with SE 0974 RC2. At least it works for my setup (GTX 780, Win 7 64bit) smile


Sadly for me that is not going to work. I have the MSI Geforce 1080 Founders Edition and that his it's own drivers. So for GTX 1080 (and later GTX 1070) cards, that is no option anymore.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
SpaceHopperDate: Saturday, 04.06.2016, 22:47 | Message # 2715
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
Here's another bug I found: BET Scorpii, aka Graffias, has a barycenter with no stars at all.


Edit: As an aside, did you know that the word "bug" in computing dates to an actual moth found trapped in a relay of the Harvard Mark II computer in 1947?

Attachments: 6364866.jpg(180Kb)





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.


Edited by SpaceHopper - Saturday, 04.06.2016, 22:51
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 181 of 221«12179180181182183220221»
Search: