ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
OstariskDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 02:41 | Message # 2656
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 451
Status: Offline
Jolamar, Suggestions go in the suggestions thread. Also, what do you mean by a galaxy finder? just zoom out until you can see the galaxy the planet/star is in, and then you can see the universe of galaxies. you can hit f3 to open search





My mods


Edited by Ostarisk - Friday, 27.05.2016, 02:41
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 16:27 | Message # 2657
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote Jolamar ()
I would like to see a Universe map in SE, to know where you are in the universe.

Strangely enough, there is indeed a Universe Map in left menu bar.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 17:23 | Message # 2658
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Jolamar,
Quote Jolamar ()
I would like to see a Universe map in SE, to know where you are in the universe.



To find a galaxy, click the icon with the magnifying glass, or press F3, and enter the name of the galaxy in the opening window.

Attachments: 0813973.jpg(424.2 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 27.05.2016, 17:24
 
brianDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 17:24 | Message # 2659
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
One question about electric propulsion (too lazy to put this question on some other thread because all the talk is here) how efficient will it be and what will happen if you put "spiral" electromagnets instead of the regular electromagnets on a VASMIR or something simular.
 
HornblowerDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 18:30 | Message # 2660
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 714
Status: Offline
I too, have a question (related to 0.9.7.4)
Are ringed terras even possible to find anymore?
 
OstariskDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 22:14 | Message # 2661
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 451
Status: Offline
Quote Hornblower ()
Are ringed terras even possible to find anymore?

I don't know, I've never seen one in my 9.7.2 anyways. try playing around with the chance thingies in universe.cfg

Actually, I think I might go for myself.






My mods
 
MosfetDate: Saturday, 28.05.2016, 00:08 | Message # 2662
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Never found a ringed terra. Or it's extremely rare, or maybe it's a glitch.




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
LiveLife42Date: Saturday, 28.05.2016, 00:56 | Message # 2663
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 272
Status: Offline
Yeah I've never found a ringed terra and I was using my Star Browser.




PC: Intel Core i7-3770K o/c 4.6 Ghz Quad Core, 16GB DDR3 o/c 1866 Mhz, EVGA GeForce 980Ti with 6GB VRAM
 
u3210Date: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 00:10 | Message # 2664
Observer
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
RC2 is working good for me, but I'd like to report two issues (haven't seen them posted before).

1st: Every time I run SE, I can hear the menu sounds. It's like they reset, but in the options it's on zero. I have to turn sounds on, and turn them off again in order to make them work as intended.

2nd: I experienced heavy lag near black holes, but that's okay, because they're beautiful. What's not really okay is that when I turn on "Hi-Quality Black Holes", nothing happens, except that it's inner area turns completely black.

Anyway, this patch isn't even out yet but even in it's current state it's absolutely awesome!!
Thank you all for your hard work! happy
 
kham132Date: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 02:16 | Message # 2665
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Far away Browns Dwarfs are seen through planets.

Attachments: 9350206.log(52.2 Kb)





"Fancy and inspirational quote."
- Famous Person
 
RoswellDate: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 03:03 | Message # 2666
Pioneer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 500
Status: Offline
Quote kham132 ()
ar away Browns Dwarfs are seen through planets.

Attachments: 9350206.log(52Kb)



I saw too.
 
meegjaDate: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 06:45 | Message # 2667
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Here on the latest Nvidia driver now: 368.25 - WHQL. Bad thing: this too has the bug that cloud textures on planets disappear when you come closer. But good thing: this driver is for the Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition which I now own smile (so the driver is not intended for other GTX cards AFAIN)
Normally I buy hardware when it is around 1 year on the market just because it is cheaper then. But now I made an exception and what a beast of a card it is! In games and some 3D applications I use it makes a HUGE difference. In SE 0.9.7.4 it doesn't make a huge difference though. Loading Speed is cranked up, textures are forming and showing much faster.
Oh, and no micro stutter/pause any more, even with Threaded Optimization set to Auto in the Nvidia Control Panel.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition


Edited by meegja - Sunday, 29.05.2016, 07:27
 
MixaDate: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 08:18 | Message # 2668
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
I also can't find ringed terras and, not just brown dwarfs, but all of the stars can be seen trough plantes from a certain angle and distance.
 
meegjaDate: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 15:44 | Message # 2669
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Okay, did some testing with SE 0.9.7.4 with the new Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition.
It runs great, even a bit too great. I had Vertical Synchronisation disabled and the card got to 70 degrees (Celsius) and the fan was spinning at 80%. Not sounding like a vacuum-cleaner but still noticeable. So I enabled the in-game FPS read and did see that it was at 700+ FPS!
Enabled the in-game Vertical Synchronisation and then it is a constant 60 FPS with the card at 45 degrees (Celsius) and normal fan speed and no "jerking" with movement. But when setting the ingame Vertical Synchronisation to Auto, there was "jerking" with movement.
Also, like I mentioned earlier, the Threaded Optimization in the Nvidia Control Panel set to Auto now gives no more micro stutter/pauses.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
InariusDate: Sunday, 29.05.2016, 17:32 | Message # 2670
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 237
Status: Offline
It's been quite a long time SE haven't told us about his advance. I think it's a good sign of the next RC or perhaps the definitive patch !
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: