ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 172 of 221«12170171172173174220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
meegjaDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 06:26 | Message # 2566
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
meegja, make sure that threaded optimization is disabled for SE in the Nvidia control panel.

Did try that already. I know I have a few OpenGL programs who react on that. But with SE it does not make any difference.
Did some more searching and see a lot of people with OpenGL problems with Nvidia with other programs. But it seems totally random: some systems have stutters with OpenGL, others are working great.
But thanx for the tip anyway smile





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
n0b0dyDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 09:30 | Message # 2567
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote meegja ()
Did try that already.


meegja,
In addition to HarbingerDawn, 's suggestion, also try reducing loader time/speed in the graphics options (ctrl+F4).
I found that a setting of around 4 reduces stuttering and lags a great deal.
 
meegjaDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 09:57 | Message # 2568
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Quote n0b0dy ()
meegja,
In addition to HarbingerDawn, 's suggestion, also try reducing loader time/speed in the graphics options (ctrl+F4).
I found that a setting of around 4 reduces stuttering and lags a great deal.


Also did try that, thanx :)
But even when it is set to zero, it's there: the FPS is 60 but the stutter/micro-pause is still there. It's like ES is running behind the facts or something like that. Like my PC is waiting every second or so for work to do and then it gets it's info, it's processing it and outputs it and then waits again, and so on, and so on.
Did do some OpenGL benchmarks now too (Geeks3D GpuTest) and all is fine in there: good FPS with a bit above average scores.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
n0b0dyDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 10:38 | Message # 2569
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote meegja ()
Also did try that, thanx :)
But even when it is set to zero, it's there


meegja, what resolution SE is running? I am running triple TVs 5760x1080 and yes there is stuttering which may be because of that. If you are running 1920x1080 then it maybe other issue. Also be aware that there is a VRAM issue with the GTX-970. It is running at full speed up to 3.5GBs and then it slows down dramatically between 3.5-4GB. Google it for more info.
And SE can definitely consume more than 3.5 GB VRAM especially if you are running extreme resolutions. I have ASUS GTX-780 OC STRYX Edn with 6GB VRAM and it eats it up like peanuts smile

PS: On a side not I think the latest NVidia driver may not work very well with 0974 RC2. I think the previous one was less laggy unsure
 
meegjaDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 11:33 | Message # 2570
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Just single monitor @ 1920x1080. I have way heavier programs and they run just fine.
And yes, there is that issue with the GTX970. But I did monitor the GPU load on Mhz and memory and that is just fine.
And did try 3 different NVidia drivers now, but all 3 have the same.
Ah well, I just wait and see. I am sure it work will out in the end :)

Added (14.05.2016, 11:33)
---------------------------------------------
I found it!! :D
Turns out that I had to disable Vertical Synchronization in ES itself and then Enable it in the Nvidia settings. It runs great now: on highest detail and loading time/speed set to 10 and it's smooth as silk.
And now I see also the effect of the Threaded Optimization in the Nvidia control panel: when enabled there is stutter, when disabled it runs fine. So it had all to do with the in-game Vertical Synchronization.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition


Edited by meegja - Saturday, 14.05.2016, 11:38
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 12:51 | Message # 2571
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
That's all very weird, since I also have a GTX 970 without that issue, but I'm glad you've got it sorted out.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
IdgeliosDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 19:10 | Message # 2572
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
Will there be a density slider for planemos like there is for procedural stars?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 23:15 | Message # 2573
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Idgelios ()
Will there be a density slider for planemos like there is for procedural stars?

What density slider is there for procedural stars?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 14.05.2016, 23:54 | Message # 2574
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Quote Idgelios ()
Will there be a density slider for planemos like there is for procedural stars?

What density slider is there for procedural stars?

Maybe Idgelios thinks of this sliders:


Attachments: 4252297.jpg(162Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
IdgeliosDate: Sunday, 15.05.2016, 01:35 | Message # 2575
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
I'm talking about the procedural star density modifier in the Universe.cfg.
 
sinsforealDate: Sunday, 15.05.2016, 02:24 | Message # 2576
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
JackDole, Idgelios, Jack is correct that was what he was referring to harbingerdawn. So Idgelios There will be no need for a slider because it already exists, Its called "planet brightness"




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 15.05.2016, 06:00 | Message # 2577
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote sinsforeal ()
Jack is correct that was what he was referring to harbingerdawn.

No, that's not was he was talking about, as he himself said:

Quote Idgelios ()
I'm talking about the procedural star density modifier in the Universe.cfg.

And that's a config value, not a slider.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
IdgeliosDate: Sunday, 15.05.2016, 14:54 | Message # 2578
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
To specific I am referring to the StarGalaxyDensity parameter and if there will be a configuration option like the StarGalaxyDensity parameter for Planemos.
 
JCandeiasDate: Sunday, 15.05.2016, 16:35 | Message # 2579
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 387
Status: Offline
Hi. It's been a while.

I have, with RC2, the same problem OBV10U3_NINJA had back in november (see message #703 in this thread), but in my case there's no cache deleting and reloading the program that works. The planetary textures are missing from all major planets, although Pluto and Ceres, at least, do show their textures. Earth, for instance, is like this:



Checking se.log, I don't see anything obviously wrong, so I'm stumped. I'm attaching it anyway. It isn't a localization issue: I've tried the program in English and Earth is still a white ball.

Attachments: 9482555.jpg(173Kb) · 9663269.log(107Kb)





They let me use this!
 
BambusmanDate: Sunday, 15.05.2016, 16:52 | Message # 2580
Pioneer
Group: SE team
Germany
Messages: 408
Status: Offline
JCandeias, did you downloaded any texture addons for earth? if yes you probably installed them wrong
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 172 of 221«12170171172173174220221»
Search: