ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 171 of 221«12169170171172173220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SpaceHopperDate: Tuesday, 10.05.2016, 22:42 | Message # 2551
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
About these planemos and stars...you know, there's a good way to make (sadly, only a few custom) stars and planets orbit the center of the galaxy like they do in real life. Make them orbit a StarBarycenter situated at the center of the galaxy (or, if you're in the Milky Way, the Milky Way Central Black Hole) and then create Stars that will orbit the StarBarycenter, with a period of, say, 200 million years. Then you might be able to watch (custom) constellations change...




3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
 
kham132Date: Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 00:24 | Message # 2552
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
I'm not sure if this is a bug, but the twistMagn tag doesn't effect the look of the clouds.
In my code:
Code

    Clouds //GENERATED
    {
  BumpHeight      2.5
  DayAmbient      3.0
  Hapke           0.2
  mainFreq        0.857143
  mainOctaves     10
  Coverage        0.35
  twistZones      2.75
  twistMagn       0.15
  Height          9.0
  Velocity        500.0 // km/h
    }

On the planet:

vv Log File vv

Attachments: 1794472.log(61Kb)





"Fancy and inspirational quote."
- Famous Person


Edited by kham132 - Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 00:25
 
HornblowerDate: Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 01:12 | Message # 2553
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 714
Status: Offline
Quote kham132 ()
twistMagn tag doesn't effect the look of the clouds.

I think the problem is your trying to edit earth. I don't think any edit can change earth's clouds. Try another planet (Preferably a procedural one)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 02:14 | Message # 2554
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Hornblower ()
I think the problem is your trying to edit earth. I don't think any edit can change earth's clouds.

No, he clearly gave Earth procedural clouds and is editing them.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
steeljaw354Date: Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 10:05 | Message # 2555
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
I noticed that when I edit planets and such, I can't change the land/sea or the the clouds for some reason.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 11:57 | Message # 2556
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote FastFourierTransform ()
2.- Now that the system has changed; is it reasonable to have interstellar asteroids or comets? There should be around 1000 billion per cubic parsec or even more

This is possible only if they will not move, and by cost of performance/memory impact (of course). Also, how to find them? The map and star browser will be spammed by them completely.

Quote FastFourierTransform ()
Not all rogue planets have to be non-illuminated or pitch black. For example a close planetary binary would create inmense heat by the tidal interaction as to melt part of the crust

This should exist, because for rogue planet system I used the same code which generates a moon system.

Quote FastFourierTransform ()
4.- In the new engine's system there can be also trinary planemos? Planemos should follow also the hierarchical structure of multiple-stellar systems. Maybe there are binary rogue planets that orbit other binary for example (a quadruple planemo).

Not now.

Quote FastFourierTransform ()
5.- I assume that the perturbations of the nearest objects are neglegible so that the hill's sphere of a plenemo shoould be huge! This means maybe moons with semi-mayor axis of tens of AUs for example.

1 AU is limit for now, until I find some scientific work about that.
BTW some works says what significant percent of planemo should be solitary, because they lost their moons during planet-planet scattering event (the only way for planemo to left star system is to approach another massive planet and being ejecting). This also mean what many planemos are actually former moons.





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 11.05.2016, 12:06 | Message # 2557
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote sinsforeal ()
Salvo, So in total around ten months of time is a good estimate of how long it will take to fully implement these features. That is my minimum estimate. In reality it will most likely take at least a year to implement all of this because of bug testing and issues it may cause as well as many different unknowns that could occur. So we will be close to 1.0 around this time next year if I am correct.

Yes, many months to implement all these features. But then... bug fixes is actually 90% of time. So you should multiply "many months" to 10.





 
MixaDate: Thursday, 12.05.2016, 12:12 | Message # 2558
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
So about 10 more years and engine will be considered done, right? Though, it can be built upon even then.
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Thursday, 12.05.2016, 13:19 | Message # 2559
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote Mixa ()
So about 10 more years and engine will be considered done, right? Though, it can be built upon even then.


No the engine isn't done yet. There will be more updates to the engine.





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
 
meegjaDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 09:37 | Message # 2560
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
New member who used 0.973 without any problems, great fun!
Tried 0.974 now and having issues with stutter/lag or what ever that is called in English smile Main issue is that it all "jumps" a bit every second or so when moving. See Youtube URL below for example.
Did find same issues here and tried every setting, both in 0.974 itself as in setting with graphic card, but no success.
This all on up to date , not overclocked system system:
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
CPU: Intel i5 4690k
GPU: MSI GTX970
Memory: 16 Gb DDR3 2400

Edit: I did a clean install of 0.974, so this all on 0.9.7.4 RC2.

Here is the video: https://youtu.be/Yys5Jc3hLho

Attachments: 0091663.log(46Kb)





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition


Edited by meegja - Friday, 13.05.2016, 10:28
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 12:03 | Message # 2561
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Hi meegja, I don't see nothing particular in your SE.log, except maybe a possible update of your Nvidia drivers, those you have are two months old. I don't have reason to believe this will solve your issue, bit it's good to have those updated anyway.
If you have an antivirus installed (you should) try disabling it and see if something change.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
meegjaDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 12:17 | Message # 2562
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
That is correct: there were issues with the 2nd last drivers, so I did wait with update. Issues are fixed now I did read, so I can update, thanx for the heads up.
Did try it with anti virus disabled but did not help. But again: 0.973 runs great without any issues at 40 - 60 fps (mostly 60fps) and 0.974 CR2 has this stutter.





Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 12:35 | Message # 2563
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
try opening your task manager while in SE (ctrl-shift-esc), go to "options" menu and tick "always on top".
See if SpaceEngine or other programs cause some peak while moving around , 100% cpu or disk, something like that. other than that, it could be some drivers? I'm sorry right now I'm out of options, maybe someone else had this issue and hopefully he'll be able to help smile





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
sinsforealDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 12:57 | Message # 2564
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
meegja, download nvidia driver version 362.00 they are months old but they work for me; even in the latest version RC3




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
meegjaDate: Friday, 13.05.2016, 20:42 | Message # 2565
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
@ Mosfet
Did monitor and nothing weird: CPU in total not above 50% when SE is doing some heavy work and memory load is less then 30% with SE using 2Gb.
@ sinsforeal
Will try that.

Added (13.05.2016, 20:42)
---------------------------------------------
Well, did try the 362.00 Nvidia driver but same result.
After 2 days of using 0.9.7.4 and lots and lots of tweaking (in-game and system), I can say that on my system (see specs below) 0.9.7.3 is way and way smoother. Both in space as on surfaces. Also the build-up of the surfaces is way faster.
The stutter and micro pauses in 0.9.7.4 are overall not good and disturbing to say the least. Weird thing that the FPS is okay (around 50) but that it's just full of stutters and micro pauses. No other games or programs (I make 3D art and fractal animations and so on) has this issue. If anyone has any more tips I would be glad to try.

Graphics card: MSI GeForce GTX 970 GAMING 4G
CPU: Intel i5-4690K
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
PSU: CoolerMaster Silent Pro 600W
System memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro 16 Gb DDR3-2400
Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS
Operating system: Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Sound card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy Fx
All running standard, no OC.




Always be yourself (unless you suck)
Intel i5 4690k 3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 2400 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 Founders Edition
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 171 of 221«12169170171172173220221»
Search: