ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 01.05.2016, 23:47 | Message # 2461
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
RafukaMillan, you have an extremely weak computer that doesn't even meet the minimum hardware requirements for SE. You also appear to be running outdated graphics drivers. You can try updating your drivers, but with such weak hardware you probably will not be able to use SE at all.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
RafukaMillanDate: Sunday, 01.05.2016, 23:51 | Message # 2462
Observer
Group: Newbies
Mexico
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
I know my hardware is horrible, but I actually was able to use .973 without any problem at all
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 01.05.2016, 23:54 | Message # 2463
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
I'm not sure how that's possible. Anyway, I can't think of anything to suggest other than updating your graphics drivers and/or reinstalling.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Lucas0231Date: Monday, 02.05.2016, 06:27 | Message # 2464
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 150
Status: Offline
The nebula model of eagle nebula is darker in RC2, in other versions, this model is brighter. sad
 
The_BlazerDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 13:43 | Message # 2465
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Suddenly SE is crashing on startup (splash screen) for me. Now, reinstalling from scratch fixes the problem, but since it happened out of nowhere and I'm afraid it may happen again, I'm going to post my se.log file just in case it's of any use for the developer.
Attachments: 0174241.log(9.2 Kb)





Born too early to explore space... But just in time for Space Engine.

PC Specs:
GTX 770 (2GB VRAM) - i5 4570 - 8GB RAM


Edited by The_Blazer - Monday, 02.05.2016, 13:44
 
AlexisDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 17:05 | Message # 2466
Observer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
I just tried the RC2, its pretty impressive, especially for performances :)

What is the tradeoff of the loading speed option?

Also, why sometimes, if I try to make an orbit with a spaceship around an object close to another one much more massive than it(eg. a sun and a pretty close planet), my orbit degrades itself or even make it so its impossible to orbit it at all?

Thanks!

Edit: correction and wording.


Edited by Alexis - Monday, 02.05.2016, 20:30
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 17:10 | Message # 2467
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Alexis ()
Also, why sometimes, if I try to make an orbit why a spaceship around an object close to another one much more massive than it(eg. a sun and a pretty close planet), my orbit degrades itself or even make it so its impossible to orbit it at all?

Exactly because of influence of that object.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 17:26 | Message # 2468
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Alexis ()
What is the tradeoff of the loading speed option?

Values are maximum time spent loading per frame in milliseconds. This means that lower numbers = higher framerates while loading, but slower loading speeds, while higher numbers = lower framerates while loading, but faster loading speeds. Personally I use a value of 25.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
AlexisDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 20:34 | Message # 2469
Observer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Thanks for your answers!

I also use 25, I should try higher to see what it does.

So, there is some kind of n-body physics for spaceships? All planets and suns are on rails though no?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 22:08 | Message # 2470
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
I think spacecraft physics are n-body, but orbits of other objects are invariable Keplerian orbits.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 02.05.2016, 23:28 | Message # 2471
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
I think spacecraft physics are n-body, but orbits of other objects are invariable Keplerian orbits.

Correct.





 
AlexisDate: Tuesday, 03.05.2016, 08:31 | Message # 2472
Observer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Nice, thanks for your answers.
One last thing, the program will not create any other files than the ones on the installation folder? It should not take more than 1.5 GB of disk space right?
 
sinsforealDate: Tuesday, 03.05.2016, 10:10 | Message # 2473
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
Alexis, Yes as long as you don't have 1000+ screenshots like me :P




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
AlexisDate: Tuesday, 03.05.2016, 11:01 | Message # 2474
Observer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Quote sinsforeal ()
Alexis, Yes as long as you don't have 1000+ screenshots like me :P


Thanks, that's all I needed to know, I just had a little doubt smile
 
steeljaw354Date: Wednesday, 04.05.2016, 09:57 | Message # 2475
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
When are solar flares going to be implemented? Is it possible?
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: