ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
AlekDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 00:42 | Message # 226
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 326
Status: Offline
RedRuin, that's probably just clouds, is it not? Because I've noticed that sometimes clouds render as flat sheets intersecting with mountains.




Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
RedRuinDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 03:36 | Message # 227
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Alek,
Here's a better example (I hope):



The black line parallel to the horizon is what I'm talking about. Clouds are turned off on the right. The surface is pretty much completely flat, so it can't be mountains intersecting with the clouds, if the were still rendering.

I think the atmospheres need a bit of fixing. A variable must be out of place or something.
 
parameciumkidDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 04:43 | Message # 228
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
I don't have this same bug, but I second the assertion that something's up with the atmospheres, as a few times now I have encountered planets whereupon the visible part of the atmosphere (you know, the "sky") ends at very low altitudes - in one case, it could only be seen from the ocean or beaches, and in a more recent case it seemed to actually begin and end below sea level.
If nothing else, could the "atmospheres from sea level" checkbox be brought back?





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 13:50 | Message # 229
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote RedRuin ()
Purely aesthetic bug here. The atmosphere is rendering over the foreground, like so:
I assume these are caused by incorrect atmosphere parameters, but it couldn't hurt to point it out.


It's a chronic illness of the Eric Bruneton's atmosphere code. It cannot be fixed. I spent many hours during last years tweaking the parameters, and what you can see is the best solution.





 
RedRuinDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 18:10 | Message # 230
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
It's a chronic illness of the Eric Bruneton's atmosphere code. It cannot be fixed. I spent many hours during last years tweaking the parameters, and what you can see is the best solution.


Ah, I see now. Pay no attention to me then.
 
BambusmanDate: Saturday, 11.07.2015, 16:45 | Message # 231
Pioneer
Group: SE team
Germany
Messages: 408
Status: Offline
 
spacerDate: Monday, 13.07.2015, 04:46 | Message # 232
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1258
Status: Offline
its seems like that if you go lower the temperature is higher:
i went 3 kilometers underwater and the temperature is much higher than the land.
its a bug or normal?
smile

Attachments: 3636493.jpg(188.2 Kb)





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer


Edited by spacer - Monday, 13.07.2015, 04:48
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 13.07.2015, 18:45 | Message # 233
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote spacer ()
its a bug or normal?

Normal. SE only calculates based on atmospherics, it does not take water into account.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
grampiponDate: Wednesday, 15.07.2015, 04:30 | Message # 234
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
Are we going to get a new Pluto model soon? :D
 
DarkenTerraDate: Wednesday, 15.07.2015, 10:00 | Message # 235
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
It's a chronic illness of the Eric Bruneton's atmosphere code. It cannot be fixed. I spent many hours during last years tweaking the parameters, and what you can see is the best solution.


But I found something important about this bug: In version 0972,this bug is invisible!(I am sure wink ) So I think it might be a good idea to cover the code in present version by the old one from ver. 0972 smile





Who am I ?
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 15.07.2015, 11:12 | Message # 236
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote DarkenTerra ()
But I found something important about this bug: In version 0972,this bug is invisible!(I am sure ) So I think it might be a good idea to cover the code in present version by the old one from ver. 0972

Are you sure? Try to find (or make) the same planet in 0.972 and 0.974. This atmosphere artefact is very sensitive to conditions. Make a terrain 100 meters higher and you will not see any artefacts.





 
Sev00Date: Wednesday, 15.07.2015, 12:13 | Message # 237
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 20
Status: Offline
Oh, so you're using Eric Bruneton's atmsophere too... well, the world is small x)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 16.07.2015, 17:41 | Message # 238
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
All updated to the date:

Changes:
- Label rendering for selected object is independent of distance and bright
- Separate buffers for left and right pass in stereo modes
- Rendering in the equirectangular spherical projection
- Added quintuple star system 1SWASP J093010.78+533859.5
- Ship HUD is hiding in interstellar mode
- Planet SurfStyle can be updated in the Planet editor
- Updated palettes for titans and iceworlds
- Alien vegetation on titans with terrestrial life
- Reduced too often impact bassins on iceworlds and titans
- Random global tint of a planets into shades of brown
- Polar caps on cold selenas and iceworlds (Ganymede-like and Pluto-like thin frost deposit)

Bugfixes:
- Fixed render of orbits in the Map mode
- Fixed bug with infinite radius of black holes, neutron stars and white dwarves
- Fixed wrong camera positioning at program startup
- Fixed artefacts with black hole and ship warp effect in stereo modes
- Fixed wrong calculation of orbital period of catalog binary stars
- Fixed interstellar ships magnitude calculation
- Fixed crash on building a ship in interstellar space
- Fixed sprites rendering order in nebulae

Screenshots:

More interesting palettes on titans:


Alien lifeforms on titans (for now they used the same tiles in atlas textures as terras):



Random coloration of the landmasses (before and after):



Polar caps on selenas:

Attachments: 3944230.jpg(272.0 Kb) · 4754804.jpg(263.7 Kb) · 3577857.jpg(438.0 Kb) · 8701617.jpg(270.5 Kb) · 9279249.jpg(299.6 Kb) · 2779398.jpg(150.9 Kb)





 
InariusDate: Thursday, 16.07.2015, 17:48 | Message # 239
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
France
Messages: 237
Status: Offline
Great! I hope the full release will be soon !
 
parameciumkidDate: Thursday, 16.07.2015, 19:21 | Message # 240
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
YAY~!
So does this mean 0.9.7.4 revision 5 is imminent, or that 0.9.7.5 is on the horizon?





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: