ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 159 of 221«12157158159160161220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 22.04.2016, 18:52 | Message # 2371
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Hornblower ()

Kepler's field of view, correct?

Quote Fireinthehole ()
looks like the stars of view by the Kepler telescope.







Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
ksgDate: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 10:48 | Message # 2372
Observer
Group: Newbies
Finland
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Been having an amazing time with this build. Here's some kind of bug I discovered.

Star S102 / S0-102 right next to Sagittarius A* being drawn as if it were behind the black hole's accretion disk. The star is very close to the black hole, about 7AU

EDIT: reproduction is a bit iffy, as the bug seems to depend on the angle you're looking at the star/black hole. I can post a video on request if necessary though.



Edited by ksg - Saturday, 23.04.2016, 11:03
 
steeljaw354Date: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 13:55 | Message # 2373
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Any plans to add rogue planets?
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 15:20 | Message # 2374
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote steeljaw354 ()
Any plans to add rogue planets?


I would love to have rogue planets but I created a scorched rogue planet with no star.



Quote ksg ()
Been having an amazing time with this build. Here's some kind of bug I discovered.

Star S102 / S0-102 right next to Sagittarius A* being drawn as if it were behind the black hole's accretion disk. The star is very close to the black hole, about 7AU

EDIT: reproduction is a bit iffy, as the bug seems to depend on the angle you're looking at the star/black hole. I can post a video on request if necessary though.


I got the same result so it's most likely a catalog error.





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Saturday, 23.04.2016, 15:23
 
Donatelo200Date: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 17:23 | Message # 2375
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
@ksg

That is not a bug. That is simply the cooler gas in the accretion disk dimming the light of the star.

EDIT: I misunderstood the image. You are correct, that is a bug.





CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)


Edited by Donatelo200 - Saturday, 23.04.2016, 17:24
 
Player1Date: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 19:30 | Message # 2376
Astronaut
Group: Users
Mexico
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
That's already been fixed for the next release.


How can I fix it by myself? I'm curious





"We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt"
-Joseph Cooper, "Interstellar"
 
MosfetDate: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 20:07 | Message # 2377
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote ksg ()
Star S102 / S0-102 right next to Sagittarius A* being drawn as if it were behind the black hole's accretion disk.

Quite an interesting star indeed. According to Wikipedia, " As of 2012 it is the star with the shortest known period [11.5 yr] orbiting the black hole at the centre of the Milky Way. This now beats the record set by S0–2 of 16 years."

Catalog data are correct, I'd say it could also be an effect of gravitational lensing? Man, that little star run fast!!





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Saturday, 23.04.2016, 20:12
 
connorneal2005Date: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 21:37 | Message # 2378
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 46
Status: Offline
SEngineer, Where could I get a standalone version of SERC2, I may have missed about... 2 or 3 versions? wacko

-That guy who forgot about SE for months





How big is the universe?
 
MosfetDate: Saturday, 23.04.2016, 21:59 | Message # 2379
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote connorneal2005 ()
Where could I get a standalone version of SERC2

First post of the thread





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
ksgDate: Sunday, 24.04.2016, 06:51 | Message # 2380
Observer
Group: Newbies
Finland
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()

Catalog data are correct, I'd say it could also be an effect of gravitational lensing? Man, that little star run fast!!


The issue isn't about the star's distance to the black hole, that bit is probably correct (and very interesting, no doubt.)
The issue is that the star is in between Sgr* A and the viewport, but at certain angles the accretion disk is being drawn on top of it.
Here's a little video clip to maybe clarify what I meant. (Apologies for the quiet audio, my voice is garbage and I cant speak loudly)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 24.04.2016, 10:18 | Message # 2381
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
SE cannot render correctly any object (star, planet, ship, orbital line etc), which is inside the black hole effect shader. For solitary black hole it is 1000x Rg, for black hole with accretion disk it is also 1000x Rg or a disk radius, if is it larger than 1000 Rg.




 
FastFourierTransformDate: Sunday, 24.04.2016, 11:33 | Message # 2382
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 542
Status: Offline
Quote steeljaw354 ()
Any plans to add rogue planets?

Quote steeljaw354 ()
I would love to have rogue planets but I created a scorched rogue planet with no star.


Very interesting indeed. Please contribute to the discussión thread about rogue planets here:

Interestellar objects thread
 
NantesDate: Sunday, 24.04.2016, 13:02 | Message # 2383
Observer
Group: Newbies
Brazil
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Edit: bug report removed, I was wrong

Quote
Any plans to add rogue planets?


Interesting idea at first sight, but they would be basically invisible. They would be too far away from any star on average to be bright enough to be noticeable. What would be the statistical chance of you randomly clicking somewhere in space and finding a rogue planet? Otherwise they'd be impossible to find, and thus pointless to include.


Edited by Nantes - Monday, 25.04.2016, 14:10
 
ksgDate: Sunday, 24.04.2016, 13:19 | Message # 2384
Observer
Group: Newbies
Finland
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Quote Nantes ()
There is nothing at the center of those two planets that could justify their almost-circular orbit around that point. Perhaps I just found evidence for dark matter?


The center point is the system's barycenter; it's sort of the system's collective center of mass. This point is what any system's objects, planetary and stellar scale alike, orbit around, just in most cases the point is inside a more massive object, rendering it almost static, while the less massive objects orbit around it.

Here's a Wikipedia article explaining this in more depth and a less messy and confusing manner
 
[DW]SolarisDate: Sunday, 24.04.2016, 13:29 | Message # 2385
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Right, new bug.
i keep getting a CTD. first time, it was when i was inside Saggitarius A, and trying to leave.
second time, i don't know what I was doing.
Third time, I was on a planet in a globular cluster near the milky way, using shift drag to zoom in.
fourth time was exactly the same.
however, neither of them happened immidiately, more like 4/10 seconds after i reach max zoom level.





In the beginning was the word,
And the word was "Arrrgh!"
- Piraticus, 13:7
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 159 of 221«12157158159160161220221»
Search: