ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 150 of 221«12148149150151152220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
VoekoevakaDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 12:02 | Message # 2236
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
The glitches I noticed :

- Andromeda Galaxy have no central black hole.

- Some minor graphical glitches :


Objects inside gravitational lens appears with discontinuities : here the inside part of accretion disk looks jagged. This happens also on neutron stars when approching the surface, but this is less visible, and only noticeable when moving.

Here also can be seen a star flare through the neutron star surface.

Water surface seen from close looks glitchy :

And with very dense athmospheres, a sharp limit can be seen between gas and empty space.


- Strange behavior with white dwarves and neutron stars :
It is a known bug that only white dwarves and neutron stars having an accretion disk have an animated surface. But I found some white dwarves with accretion disk, and something strange happened when landing on the surface : the more I was approaching, the more the surface texture was displayed bigger, until it was completely reversed. Like when i'm inside a black hole, the object covered most of the view leaving a small circle of outside space visible, but here the view was covered with whate dwarf texture, but instead of being distorded like with black holes, the outside space view was just cropped.
This bug occured when the "rotate with object" box was checked :


- I saw this object :

This is a brown dwarf. It surface is rendered glowing magenta and the clouds black. This is an atmosphere problem as when i disabled it, the star was back to normal.

- Single L-type brown dwarves are rendered as yellow dwarves.

- When the planet is hidden by a star, it's evaporation tail can dissapear :



- And my last bug : after using chart mode, all the objet of a system i explored were misplaced relaticely to the orbits :
A planed and its moons with the orbits behind :

The "empty" orbits :





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 13:59 | Message # 2237
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote eliotmni ()
As you can see, the planet on the right is totaly hidden from the sun by the planet on the left. So no more light.
But the left planet's night side isn't all black like it should be.
It is still enlightened, just a bit as if the dark one continued to reflect light with an enlightened side.
(sorry I'm french, bad english ^^)

This is not a bug. Switch Planet Shine to "super" - then engine will take eclipses into account.
EDIT: oops there are some bugs with solar eclipses... going to fix them.





 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 14:28 | Message # 2238
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, making the Release Candidate public was definitely a good idea, look at how many bugs have been discovered happy

Unfortunately that's a lot of work for you, but as result you'll probably make the most stable version ever.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
BrokenJoeDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 14:49 | Message # 2239
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I love this update! I can't wait until the full version is released! biggrin

Edited by BrokenJoe - Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 14:50
 
x264fhdbenchmarkDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 15:26 | Message # 2240
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer do you have plans to improve shading system?
Hills are lit by star even if they should by in shadow.
https://youtu.be/qNchKdXs1iI

Can we also have real 3D craters in SE like in Elite Dangerous?
https://youtu.be/0jE7UhIyRnA
 
shinyarceus4Date: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 15:43 | Message # 2241
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
shinyarceus4, what kind of graphics do you have? AMD? Intel?


I'm using an AMD Radeon HD 7700.
 
CanleskisDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 16:58 | Message # 2242
Space Pilot
Group: Users
France
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
SpaceEngineer do you have plans to improve shading system?
Hills are lit by star even if they should by in shadow.
https://youtu.be/qNchKdXs1iI

Can we also have real 3D craters in SE like in Elite Dangerous?
https://youtu.be/0jE7UhIyRnA


He would need a lot of work but of course it would be amazing. I've always noticed that something was missing on planets so they didn't look as big as they are, couldn't see how vast the landscape is etc. This would change this all IMO but I think SpaceEngineer is more focused on gameplay and other things right now. But if dynamic shadows were planned for a near future, that would be a huge improvement of the engine and change a lot of things.
 
x264fhdbenchmarkDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 17:32 | Message # 2243
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
I wish that planet generation in SE was as advanced as in Elite Dangerous
https://youtu.be/Elc04JxJKas

Notice how diverse is surface of the rocky planets!
You have some giant cracks ,canyons , small and huge craters.


Edited by x264fhdbenchmark - Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 17:39
 
quarior14Date: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 17:44 | Message # 2244
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 649
Status: Offline
I just noticed that SpaceEngineer made a foul in the name of the folder of the vessels/ships before they called spacecrafts but you remove the s at the end, which gives spacecraft. Unless it is desired, I inform the other of the change of the name of the folder.




Quarior
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 18:35 | Message # 2245
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Voekoevaka ()
- Andromeda Galaxy have no central black hole.

It have central black hole. It is called "M 31 Central Black Hole". It is just located not exactly in the center of the galaxy.

Quote Voekoevaka ()
It is a known bug that only white dwarves and neutron stars having an accretion disk have an animated surface.

Fixed.

Quote Voekoevaka ()
But I found some white dwarves with accretion disk, and something strange happened when landing on the surface

This is becasue SE generated large oblateness for this star, but Black hole shader dosen't support oblate stars. Fixed now.

Quote Voekoevaka ()
- Single L-type brown dwarves are rendered as yellow dwarves.

What do you mean? This is not as yellow dwarf, yellow dwarfs looked differently:


Quote Voekoevaka ()
- When the planet is hidden by a star, it's evaporation tail can dissapear :

Don't understand. Do you mean what planet is out outside the screen?

Quote Voekoevaka ()
- And my last bug : after using chart mode, all the objet of a system i explored were misplaced relaticely to the orbits :
A planed and its moons with the orbits behind

This could occur if time was paused.

Attachments: 4385072.jpg(234Kb)





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 18:47 | Message # 2246
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
Can we also have real 3D craters in SE like in Elite Dangerous?
https://youtu.be/0jE7UhIyRnA

What do you mean? Creaters in SE are 3D.





 
shinyarceus4Date: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:17 | Message # 2247
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
It seems like N2 is unusually uncommon on extrasolar planets, considering how abundant it is in our solar system. Is this intended?
 
VoekoevakaDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:25 | Message # 2248
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What do you mean? This is not as yellow dwarf, yellow dwarfs looked differently:

OK. I wasn't able to reproduce this bug far from earth, but this bug occur for stars near the earth. I launched a search for stars, and some of the brown dwarves looked like this :




By the way, I noticed the new texture of white dwarves take into account the light beam distortion, allowing us to see more than half the surface. This is well done !


Attachments: 1219729.jpg(196Kb) · 7287286.jpg(195Kb)





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !



Edited by Voekoevaka - Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:43
 
ProteusDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 19:30 | Message # 2249
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 173
Status: Offline
Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
Can we also have real 3D craters in SE like in Elite Dangerous?
https://youtu.be/0jE7UhIyRnA

Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
I wish that planet generation in SE was as advanced as in Elite Dangerous
https://youtu.be/Elc04JxJKas

Notice how diverse is surface of the rocky planets!
You have some giant cracks ,canyons , small and huge craters.


Are you sure its Space Engine you've been playing?... It doesn't sound like it. lol





 
ShodanDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 20:23 | Message # 2250
Observer
Group: Newbies
Netherlands
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I have just started with space engine and have downloaded the beta version.

Everything works good in the build, but for me the RC2 version is not stable at all.

Every 10 minutes the engine crashes. No real detailed error message, just stopped working. It particularly happens close to planets and in motion.

My specs should be more than adequate to play the simulator:

- i5 2500k
- gtx 980
- 8GB mem
- win 10 (tried win 7 compatibility mode)

It's quite frustrating, this is an amazing piece of software, but it is unstable as hell for me. I have no other issues in any other game or software on my computer.

Any suggestions what this could be? I'd love to be able to play :-(
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 150 of 221«12148149150151152220221»
Search: