ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 22:10 | Message # 2221
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote shinyarceus4 ()
Accretion disks sometimes end up looking like this at certain angles:

I'm fairly sure it's the gravitational lensing effect, since it's also noticeable around neutron stars and white dwarves (though far less so)


Did you update your drivers?





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
 
parameciumkidDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 00:17 | Message # 2222
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
^ I have the same problem and check my drivers every two minutes. So it's not an outdated driver issue. I think I heard something about SpaceEngineer looking into it, but in the meantime you can just work around it by nudging the camera a bit.




Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 02:15 | Message # 2223
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
shinyarceus4, what kind of graphics do you have? AMD? Intel?




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
NantesDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 02:40 | Message # 2224
Observer
Group: Newbies
Brazil
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Graphical glitch when zooming into the Sirius B star when orbits are activated. The stars flickers rapidly and also changes color to red. Glitches are not present when orbits are disabled. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=El1vgnw13IM
 
quarior14Date: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 09:10 | Message # 2225
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 649
Status: Offline
I just tested the new version. I just noticed that it loads all the catalogs, you will no doubt say it is well unless it has several versions of the system, conclusion, the solar system is both a red giant but with 22 planets sheltering life. I looked in universe.cfg but I find this, what I do, I have to put in another Space Engine folder other systems ?

universe.cfg :
Code
// level of logging while loading catalogs:
// 0 - do not log
// 1 - log errors and warnings, using min(CatalogLogLevel, LogLevel) in the catalog file
// 2 - log everything,          using min(CatalogLogLevel, LogLevel) in the catalog file
// 3 - log errors and warnings, ignoring LogLevel value in the catalog file
// 4 - log everything,          ignoring LogLevel value in the catalog file
CatalogLogLevel    2

// level of logging for the *.csv catalog files:
// 0 - do not log
// 1 - log errors and warnings
// 2 - log everything
CsvLogLevel        2

I hope that in the next version, there will be an interface so that we can more easily off the systems.





Quarior
 
MosfetDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 09:38 | Message # 2226
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
the Ring Nebula has the designation NGC 6720. The designation M 57 is missing.

Quote Mosfet ()
Is there a particular reason

I was asking if it's a choice made on purpose and if true, why





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 10:23 | Message # 2227
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote quarior14 ()
I hope that in the next version, there will be an interface so that we can more easily off the systems.

Remove the .sc file extension on the unwanted catalog files... or comment out the file's code... you have a few options on how to deal with this.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 10:57 | Message # 2228
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Mosfet,
I think that the Messier number simply has been forgotten.





Don't forget to look here.

 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 12:01 | Message # 2229
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceHopper ()
Well, I tried doing that, and it puts the galaxy at a new, random location (usually near the Milky Way), among other things. So I had to do this in the addons folder file:

Yes, right, any galaxy must have position and orientation, including galaxy in patch script. The same is true for clusters and nebulae.

Quote Himself ()
I have found that the lens flare from supergiant stars is strangely cut off when viewed from very close to a black hole and can disappear completely at some angles.

This is not a bug. This is how BH distortion works.

Quote LookAtDatDakka ()
SpaceEngineer, can you add a check to see if temperature is 100C° at any point in orbit and from tidal heating, then no terra will appear?

No, because of order of calculation in the current planetary system generation code. This is why hot titans and frozen terras exist.





 
VoekoevakaDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 12:02 | Message # 2230
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
The glitches I noticed :

- Andromeda Galaxy have no central black hole.

- Some minor graphical glitches :


Objects inside gravitational lens appears with discontinuities : here the inside part of accretion disk looks jagged. This happens also on neutron stars when approching the surface, but this is less visible, and only noticeable when moving.

Here also can be seen a star flare through the neutron star surface.

Water surface seen from close looks glitchy :

And with very dense athmospheres, a sharp limit can be seen between gas and empty space.


- Strange behavior with white dwarves and neutron stars :
It is a known bug that only white dwarves and neutron stars having an accretion disk have an animated surface. But I found some white dwarves with accretion disk, and something strange happened when landing on the surface : the more I was approaching, the more the surface texture was displayed bigger, until it was completely reversed. Like when i'm inside a black hole, the object covered most of the view leaving a small circle of outside space visible, but here the view was covered with whate dwarf texture, but instead of being distorded like with black holes, the outside space view was just cropped.
This bug occured when the "rotate with object" box was checked :


- I saw this object :

This is a brown dwarf. It surface is rendered glowing magenta and the clouds black. This is an atmosphere problem as when i disabled it, the star was back to normal.

- Single L-type brown dwarves are rendered as yellow dwarves.

- When the planet is hidden by a star, it's evaporation tail can dissapear :



- And my last bug : after using chart mode, all the objet of a system i explored were misplaced relaticely to the orbits :
A planed and its moons with the orbits behind :

The "empty" orbits :





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 13:59 | Message # 2231
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote eliotmni ()
As you can see, the planet on the right is totaly hidden from the sun by the planet on the left. So no more light.
But the left planet's night side isn't all black like it should be.
It is still enlightened, just a bit as if the dark one continued to reflect light with an enlightened side.
(sorry I'm french, bad english ^^)

This is not a bug. Switch Planet Shine to "super" - then engine will take eclipses into account.
EDIT: oops there are some bugs with solar eclipses... going to fix them.





 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 14:28 | Message # 2232
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, making the Release Candidate public was definitely a good idea, look at how many bugs have been discovered happy

Unfortunately that's a lot of work for you, but as result you'll probably make the most stable version ever.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
BrokenJoeDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 14:49 | Message # 2233
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I love this update! I can't wait until the full version is released! biggrin

Edited by BrokenJoe - Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 14:50
 
x264fhdbenchmarkDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 15:26 | Message # 2234
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer do you have plans to improve shading system?
Hills are lit by star even if they should by in shadow.
https://youtu.be/qNchKdXs1iI

Can we also have real 3D craters in SE like in Elite Dangerous?
https://youtu.be/0jE7UhIyRnA
 
shinyarceus4Date: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 15:43 | Message # 2235
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
shinyarceus4, what kind of graphics do you have? AMD? Intel?


I'm using an AMD Radeon HD 7700.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: