ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Player1Date: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 20:21 | Message # 2206
Astronaut
Group: Users
Mexico
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
I want to make a suggestion about Shuttles thrusters...



Attachments: 9883645.jpg(74.6 Kb) · 0748036.jpg(85.1 Kb)





"We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt"
-Joseph Cooper, "Interstellar"
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 21:02 | Message # 2207
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Player1 ()
I mean, the blue thrusters can be implemented only for Interplanetary and Intestellar journeys, but for Aviation journeys it could be turned into a short yellow flame like this...

Why? Exhaust color is a function of what propellants are used, not what type of craft it is or what throttle setting it's at. Kerosene and oxygen produce a yellow flame, hydrogen and oxygen produces a very faint red-orange flame, methane and oxygen produces a blue-violet flame, and so on. Obviously whatever type of engine the shuttles in SE use are supposed to produce a blue flame. I don't see what the problem is.

If you want to nitpick about something, you could point out that the flame should expand more as the air gets thinner... but anyway, the choices made by SpaceEngineer reflect his own personal taste, it's artistic license, and given that we're talking about advanced sci-fi technology here, I think that's reasonable.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 21:28 | Message # 2208
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Himself ()
I am still having the same problem with crashing on the splash screen as before. The only things I managed to glean from reading earlier posts was that it could be an issue with OpenGL compatibility, but mine looks like it should be compatible. Another post suggested the problem, whatever it is, might be resolved in RC2, but apparently the software gods have chosen to frown upon me.

Look in the maen.cfg, whether LoaderAsyncShaders is false?

Quote isdebesl ()
Is it possible to add TYC or USNOA2 catalogs to SE?

No. These catalogs have no distance data, so cannot be placed correctly in 3D space. Which is obviousle needed in SE.





 
HimselfDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 03:19 | Message # 2209
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 45
Status: Offline
It's fine now, SpaceEngineer, I just had to update my graphics driver.

On another note, I did find a couple more small bugs while exploring.
The accretion disk from this black hole suddenly disappeared when I got between 1500 and 2000 AU from it.



The star browser listed this sextuple system as having only 5 stars.

Attachments: 5431047.jpg(255.9 Kb) · 6801838.jpg(275.6 Kb) · 9217054.jpg(403.3 Kb)
 
IdgeliosDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 06:21 | Message # 2210
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
Do brown dwarves actually superheat the planets around them by cooking them with infrared? I can't tell if this is a bug or not.

Also a strange bug happens to me from time to time where catalog stars inexplicably quantum link to each other and end up having the same planetary systems. Clicking on the star causes it to inexplicably select a different star hundreds of light years away and it seems to be a bug with certain catalog stars. Sol for instance seems to have been overwritten by 36 Ophiuchi and it causes some very weird results.

Attachments: 8647643.jpg(271.3 Kb) · 6018712.jpg(209.1 Kb) · 1989702.jpg(221.5 Kb) · 3527823.jpg(225.1 Kb)
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 06:25 | Message # 2211
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote Idgelios ()
Do brown dwarves actually superheat the planets around them by cooking them with infrared? I can't tell if this is a bug or not.


How close is the planet? If close enough, they may be getting a double whammy of tidal heating + infrared bath.
 
IdgeliosDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 06:46 | Message # 2212
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
The furthest world is .2 Au in distance.
 
Jokel317Date: Monday, 11.04.2016, 07:25 | Message # 2213
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
Another bug not sure if it is known and documented. Is when you use the page up and page down keys "telescope mode". When zoomed far in such as on a star and then press home Space Engine crashes. Work`s fine if you zoom out regularly.

Edited by Jokel317 - Monday, 11.04.2016, 07:26
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 13:02 | Message # 2214
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
Regarding Mintaka that seemed a bit off, looking at the catalogue Stars-bin-2.sc the value of declination is negative, which is correct:
Dec     -00 17 57
but I have a positive value instead when plotted in SE:
If the entry in Stars-bin-2.sc is changed in decimal form,
Dec     -0.29916667
then the daclination of the object is correct. It's as if negative values from 0 to -1 are ignored when expressed in DMS form, using positive values instead.

Oops, indeed, thanks for detecting this bug! SE reads DMS values as an array of numbers, and obviously "-00" is converted to "0", so overall number considered positive. I fixed that issue.

Quote JackDole ()
There is a bug with some galaxies that have no stars. The only stars that are in these galaxies are in clusters. This bug exists already longer. I thought he was already known.

The bug affecting only small (dwarf) catalog galaxies, which are in the NGC-IC.csv file. It is fixed now, so IC 3094 and other dwarf galaxies have stars and have no performance issues.

Quote SaturnsMoonTitan ()
I found a Red Dwarf star in RC2 that is 9,000 km in diameter- that's smaller than Earth! The star is LSR J1425+7102 . All the other red dwarfs I can find are more than 90,000km in diameter- maybe a decimal point went in the wrong place.

This is because this star have no radius data in the catalog, and SE tries to comupte it using other provided data. It don't always success in this, sometimes strange or unrealistic values are computed. In this case, radius is so small becasue computed luminosity is too small, and this is because of provided AppMagn in different lightbands. SE used them and assumes what star is abrown dwarf, which is incorrect. Magnitude corrections for M stars are much lower than for brown dwarfs, so computed luminocity is too low.
I "fixed" this issue by disabling reading AppMagR etc for non-brown dwarf stars.





 
YantraDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 13:15 | Message # 2215
Observer
Group: Users
Peru
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
(I posted this on another thread and was redirected towards here.)
I have installed the latest version of SpaceEngine (0.974 RC2) and I have noticed that some stuff have changed. First of all, there is one location on the pre-saved list titled "These guys have very complex calendar" (RS 8476-1355-7-1350374-381 4.4) which, upon being selected, yields an "Object Not Found" message. In a similar vein, I tried searching for RS 8414-2303-8-8184277-691 (a star I had previosly visited in the prior version) but I can't even find stars beginning with RS 8414 on the finder. The old default starting green moon with the gas giant in the back are not on the pre-saved list of locations, do these places still exist within the program? Also, I don't know if it is just a matter of the particular "shuffle result" of procedurally generated planets, but my prior version of SpaceEngine generated a lot of green colored planets (mainly deserts) with atmospheres of Krypton and Xenon as well as pink titans (as well as more exotic ones like dark green ones). However, in this current version, I haven't stumbled with a single planet with a Xenon or Krypton atmosphere while in the previous version I would find them at a ratio of 1 in 30 or 50 planets aproximatelly. Conversely, Terras were relatively uncommon and now they appear quite often. Is this part of the changed or mere randomness from my part?

Edit: HarbingerDawn told me that the vibrantly green planets were some sort of "debug code" to pinpoint planets that had generated unrealistic atmospheres so, I guess, they weren't normal at all and we are not seeing them anymore generated spontaneously, huh? I guess it's a pitty since they looked really pretty along those really exotic pink Titans.
 
IdgeliosDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 14:20 | Message # 2216
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 77
Status: Offline
Don't chloric worlds give a similar type of atmosphere to the greenworlds?
 
YantraDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 17:46 | Message # 2217
Observer
Group: Users
Peru
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
Quote Idgelios ()
Don't chloric worlds give a similar type of atmosphere to the greenworlds?

Yeah, they do but, at least in the previous version, the hue was more yellowish than actual green. The only planet with "green" skies I have found so far in the current version was one with a Carbon Dioxyde one, but was more a blend between green and yellow, pretty much like our own skies with an slight yellowing hue instead of the vibrant and alien greens I encountered in the previous version. Then again, even in the previous version, worlds with Chlorine atmospheres were relatively rare and I only stumbled with them like 2 or 3 times.
 
shinyarceus4Date: Monday, 11.04.2016, 19:29 | Message # 2218
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
Accretion disks sometimes end up looking like this at certain angles:



I'm fairly sure it's the gravitational lensing effect, since it's also noticeable around neutron stars and white dwarves (though far less so)
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 20:53 | Message # 2219
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
I wanted to look at Ring Nebula in Lyra, so I searched M 57 because I remembered the Messier number, but I couldn't find it until I actually wrote "ring". Is there a particular reason for some Messier objects to be listed with NGC catalog number and not their more commonly known, at least I think, Messier number?




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 21:35 | Message # 2220
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Mosfet,
the Ring Nebula has the designation NGC 6720. The designation M 57 is missing.


Attachments: 3726588.jpg(166.7 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: