ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 140 of 221«12138139140141142220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
jkirchmanDate: Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 20:32 | Message # 2086
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
I can't wait for full release. Maybe this will be implemented in the official release, but as an astronomer I will not agree that black holes are physically accurate until I see these tongue :

Anyway, space engine is beautiful as always biggrin


Edited by jkirchman - Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 20:32
 
x264fhdbenchmarkDate: Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 20:33 | Message # 2087
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
don't have this issue. What video card do you have? Maybe it doesn't support the reversed depth buffer. Anyway you can fix that issue by changing ClipHeight to something like 0.005 or 0.01 in user.cfg.


Radeon 4850.

0.01 is first good value for flat areas and hills in my case.
 
the_nerervarineDate: Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 22:53 | Message # 2088
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote x264fhdbenchmark ()
Radeon 4850.

0.01 is first good value for flat areas and hills in my case.


Even though the 4850 is a dated card it was still a very good one and should run SE like a champ,





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
galenmacilDate: Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 23:19 | Message # 2089
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
1.9.7.4 RC2 installed without any issue on Windows 10 64 bit. Did some exploration and the engine seems to behave correctly. No weird slow down or glitches so far.

Just a side note: Running in 2xSLI mode cause stuttering and skipping. Performance scale negatively with 2xGTX 980... I suppose SLI is not supported officially?


Edited by galenmacil - Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 23:21
 
RedRuinDate: Wednesday, 06.04.2016, 23:56 | Message # 2090
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
I have a question regarding the reflections of light off of the surface, mostly aesthetic. In the current version RC2 the specular is located on the opposite side of the camera, away from the sun.



Now, for extreme angles such as the rise of mountains, this would make sense, as the surface is more perpendicular to it's light source, and would hence be brighter. But on mostly flat terrain, shouldn't there be another specular like in previous versions, in between the player and the light source? Something like this?

 
RedRuinDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 00:06 | Message # 2091
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Oh and great job, Space engineer, the "3D" surfaces make it look so much more realistic than previous versions. Now we just need accurate shadow maps and the simulation will have reached new levels of quality biggrin
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 00:20 | Message # 2092
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote RedRuin ()
In the current version RC2 the specular is located on the opposite side of the camera, away from the sun.

That's not a specular reflection, it's called opposition surge, and it's not new to this version.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
RedRuinDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 01:18 | Message # 2093
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Huh. Interesting, I wasn't aware of such an effect. Thank you.
 
HeumarktDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 01:45 | Message # 2094
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Hey guys!

Long time lurker here. First let me say: SE is AMAZING and it's unbelievable what the author has done. Big fan.

I cannot open a new thread whatsoever, so I'll post here: I'm having a question/trouble concerning SE crashes related the windows page file options.

On my new system (i7 skylake, 16 GB DDR4, Win7 64) I turned off the windows page file to increase performance and prolong SSD life (a SSD can only handle so much write operations within its lifetime). So far so good. 99% of the programs don't have any problem with that. Unfortunately SE seems to be in the 1%.
While I have page file turned off, SE crashes after a few minutes. As soon as I turn on page file again, SE doesn't crash anymore. This is reproducable with my old rig (Core 2 Quad) as well.
The system is multi-hour prime stable.

So it seems, SE either uses the page file in a weird way or it has some kind of memory hole, it think reserved memory has a part in the crashes. Has anyone experience with this kind of behavior or problem? Is a fix possible? Or are guys of you running SE smoothely for long times with page file disabled?

Thanks a lot!
Cal
 
djdiego_90Date: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 03:23 | Message # 2095
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
[SOLVED] Nevermind... Just updated the graphic card drivers and everything fine, sorry ^^'

I'm having some graphical issues with this version (v 0.9.7.3 works just fine) where some planets looks as in these pictures...







Sorry if this isn't the right thread to post this, but I didn't find anything about how to solve this particular problem, and as version 0.9.7.3 works with no issues I guess that it's related to this version... I've already tried to delete the cache folder and no results, I use WinXP and my graphic card is a NVidia Geforce GT 430... Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!


Edited by djdiego_90 - Thursday, 07.04.2016, 04:02
 
BlueDracheDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 03:24 | Message # 2096
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
Shut off Lens Flares in RC2 ... option is now greyed out and cannot turn back on.

Link to DXDiag64 text: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-4Wg58C_BvRTERBWHR6eU1sd00

Link to SE log file: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-4Wg58C_BvRV0Q0Mm8wWXNjNkk

Links will be left up for a maximum of 30 days before removal.


Edited by BlueDrache - Thursday, 07.04.2016, 03:29
 
n0b0dyDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 06:01 | Message # 2097
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote galenmacil ()
ust a side note: Running in 2xSLI mode cause stuttering and skipping. Performance scale negatively with 2xGTX 980... I suppose SLI is not supported officially?


For starters go to Nvidia control panel--> 3d settings --> application profile settings, choose spaceengine (add it if not there already) and disable threaded optimization.

Also as far as I know, SLI is not yet fully supported so try disabling SLI for SpaceEngine as well and see how it goes. 1 GTX 980 should be more then enough to max everything. I am using single GTX-780 6GB VRAM and running 5760x1080 tripple TVs Nvidia surround plus reshade and it runs like a charm smile


Edited by n0b0dy - Thursday, 07.04.2016, 06:04
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 06:14 | Message # 2098
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote BlueDrache ()
option is now greyed out and cannot turn back on

It seems like it have been intentionally inserted, but maybe it doesn't work like it should? I don't know.

Quote n0b0dy ()
I am using single GTX-780 6GB VRAM

I have a few NASA programs, could you run them for me? tongue





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 10:37 | Message # 2099
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Heumarkt, what is your graphic card and the VRAM? I think this could help understanding the issue. Did you update the drivers?




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
FireintheholeDate: Thursday, 07.04.2016, 10:41 | Message # 2100
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
BlueDrache, to turn them on again, see the user.cfg file in the config folder. Change

EnableLensFlareGhosts false
to
EnableLensFlareGhosts true





Love SpaceEngine!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 140 of 221«12138139140141142220221»
Search: