ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 136 of 221«12134135136137138220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
PlutonianEmpireDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 21:18 | Message # 2026
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
No, why would that matter?

Sorry, I was wondering if limited VRam would limit how many installations I could have, since IIRC, atmosphere models permanently take up about a megabyte or so of VRAM.





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
DeathStarDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 21:36 | Message # 2027
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Not if you assume the listener is a pilot on the ship instead of a free camera. Also, given the technology at the time, there's no reason sound cannot be re-created digitally for the benefit of listeners in a vacuum.


Of course, once ship-interior view is implemented, always hearing the jets makes sense. As for your second point, I guess it might be plausible, but:

1. Why, exactly, would something like that be made? It's not like there's realistically going to be anybody listening outside in the vacuum of space for anything.

2. I doubt this would be the first thing people would assume if they heard the sound in vacuum.

From my perspective(which could, obviously, be totally wrong), a simple way to implement this is to just check whether the ambient atmospheric pressure is above a certain treshold. If it is, play the sound. If not, mute it.


Edited by DeathStar - Monday, 04.04.2016, 21:36
 
Thomas988Date: Monday, 04.04.2016, 21:46 | Message # 2028
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
I'm absolutely in love with RC2, but I have one complaint: I do not enjoy how smooth the camera moves and rotates with the mouse. I'd much prefer having the old camera movement from earlier versions, but I don't see any options to do that. Can anyone help me out?

Thanks!





All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 21:56 | Message # 2029
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Quote Mosfet ()
Shift-H does select as a target first the Milky Way, then the Sun, but it doesn't select the Earth anymore as a third option, at least on my computer.

It does for me.


After some tests, I've found that in my case if I use French or Italian as interface language, the Earth isn't selected with Shift-H.
Spanish, German and Catalan, and English of course, don't have this issue. Haven't tried all languages :)

I'd like to know if someone else can confirm this small problem.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
the_nerervarineDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 22:37 | Message # 2030
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I also noticed that the loading timing has been incredibly optimized in RC2. It almost seems like SpaceEngineer made a major break through on it. For me having the loader timer set at 5 in RC2 is about the equal if not greater then having it set to 15 in RC1.




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 23:05 | Message # 2031
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
I was wondering if limited VRam would limit how many installations I could have, since IIRC, atmosphere models permanently take up about a megabyte or so of VRAM.

1) That would only matter when the program is running, 2) they don't do that anymore.

Quote DeathStar ()
It's not like there's realistically going to be anybody listening outside in the vacuum of space for anything.

Why not? Why would you accept permanent deafness if you had the technology to hear? Anyway this technology is used to explain sounds in space in numerous sci-fi/space fantasy stories.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 23:16 | Message # 2032
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Thomas988 ()
I do not enjoy how smooth the camera moves and rotates with the mouse. I'd much prefer having the old camera movement from earlier versions, but I don't see any options to do that. Can anyone help me out?

No, I don't think there's anything the end-user can do about it.

Also, you know better than to create a new thread just to ask a single question when suitable threads already exist. Don't do it again.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
CurlyDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 23:41 | Message # 2033
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
This is probably the best running version of SE to date. Been playing for a few hours and not one single crash!
I have to say I am loving the new Hyper Jump mechanic. That warp bubble looks awesome.
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 23:59 | Message # 2034
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
1) That would only matter when the program is running, 2) they don't do that anymore.

Good to know, thank you! smile





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 00:07 | Message # 2035
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Mosfet,
Quote Mosfet ()
After some tests, I've found that in my case if I use French or Italian as interface language, the Earth isn't selected with Shift-H.

The problem lies in the 'fra-db.cfg'. I have this:

Code

RObject
{
    LocName "Soleil"
    Name    "Sol"
    Pioneer "Inconnu"


changed in this:

Code

RObject
{
    LocName "Soleil"
    Name    "The Sun"
    Parent  "Sol"
    Pioneer "Inconnu"


And it works!

Attachments: fra-db.cfg(216Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 00:54
 
TheGreatAttractorDate: Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 00:37 | Message # 2036
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 24
Status: Offline
none of the downloads are working for me. They all take ridiculously long amounts of time. the shortest one was #2, which kept changing between 2 and 3 hours.
EDIT: Never mind I got it to work.


Edited by TheGreatAttractor - Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 00:51
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 01:49 | Message # 2037
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
I was looking through some of the shader mod files I had in RC1 before migrating over to RC2, and I noticed that some of them have "/**/". What exactly do those do?

Edit: Also, when adding a custom context.cfg to addons>music, do I need to include the pre-existing definitions from the one in the data>music folder, or will the game automatically include them? And can objects be renamed (Such as renaming Earth to "Gaia")?





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 02:28
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 03:20 | Message # 2038
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
I noticed that some of them have "/**/". What exactly do those do?

/* and */ denote block comments. /* begins the comment and */ ends it. /**/ is effectively a comment with no content.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Player1Date: Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 03:25 | Message # 2039
Astronaut
Group: Users
Mexico
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
And when the autopilot says it warps, it really warps to death, I crashed on the planet.


Don't activate warp if you're going too fast. In 0.972 and 0.973 you could avoid crashing with planets breaking to 555 +-1 m/s before activating hyperjump. I don't know if this still being useful with 0.974. You should try out wink





"We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt"
-Joseph Cooper, "Interstellar"
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 03:52 | Message # 2040
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
/* and */ denote block comments. /* begins the comment and */ ends it. /**/ is effectively a comment with no content.

That makes sense, thank you. :)

In an unrelated issue, I'm trying to tweak the Solar System to my preferences, however even though I use "remove" declarations, the game keeps re-assigning the old parameters to the new bodies meant to replace them. For example, with Venus, I'm telling the game to only use the existing bumpmap for the surface, with the textures being generated procedurally. However, even though it is a terra with oceans, there is no way to achieve the Terraformed affect like with Mars. It also still uses the base "JVV" diffmap, as well as the original venus clouds for the bottom clouds layer.

Is there anything I can do on my end to fix this?



Edit: Also, how do I completely remove a binary star? The Remove parameters work for the individual stars, but the RemoveStar refuses to remove the actual system; the game will place the original star in its old spot complete with procedural planets.

Regardless, RC2 looks really nice! Good job! smile

Attachments: 7054496.jpg(153Kb) · tmp_24106-Venus.sc(3Kb) · tmp_24106-Solar.sc(34Kb) · tmp_24106-se-13.log(53Kb)





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Tuesday, 05.04.2016, 09:37
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 136 of 221«12134135136137138220221»
Search: