ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 135 of 221«12133134135136137220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
DeathStarDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:14 | Message # 2011
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
- Engines exhaust rendering and sound effects


Jet sound effects? Was this added in RC2, or was it in the game before?


Edited by DeathStar - Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:14
 
FireintheholeDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:16 | Message # 2012
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote SaturnsMoonTitan ()
Also I think the bug where storms would get cut in half is back. I found a gas giant with seven Great Red Spots, three of which were cut in half. Restarting game doesn't fix it. The planet is RS 8476-3604-7-1073543-551 9

Hasn't this bug always been around?





Love SpaceEngine!
 
CanleskisDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:16 | Message # 2013
Space Pilot
Group: Users
France
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
Jet sound effects? Was this added in RC2, or was it in the game before?


It was added in RC2
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:16 | Message # 2014
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Sound effects were added in RC2 DeathStar.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
form_d_kDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:37 | Message # 2015
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 68
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Let's hope that Microsoft does not come any ideas.
For example: Every book that has been created with Word may be marketed by Microsoft. Without permission.


That is impossible. Due to monopolistic practices, Microsoft has been under U.S. Department of Justice & an EU technical committe until recently. They would never stand for such a thing. Besides, Microsoft right now under Satay has been moving in a new direction, supporting open source & multi-platform support.
 
SaturnsMoonTitanDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:39 | Message # 2016
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
The specular bump map detail looks fantastic but I found a bug: if you try and get close to the surface they glow or the camera overexposes or something.

100 meters from the surface:




A few meters from the surface:

 
ProteusDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:47 | Message # 2017
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 173
Status: Offline
Reporting what I can so far as far as bugs (apologies if any of them were already known and I'm just being redundant)

(AMD Radeon 6600, 512mb VRAM, 6gb RAM, Windows 10)

- Most planets in the system browser still do not show up (did I understand this to be a bug with the atmosphere models doing this?)

- New ship warp system development is nice, though while the "go to" or the "jump to" features do attempt to work, neither of them let the ship actually arrive at any destination. The jump to seems to hit a wall some light years away from any planet, while the Go To fails to slow the ship down in time to make a stop, resulting in catapulting past it, back out into interstellar space and spins out of control.

- Cloud rendering on some planets are bugged with vertical stretching, jutting out of the atmosphere

- When using the landing feature, some atmospheres take minutes before they appear.

- Sun sprites flicker wildly when navigating in their systems





 
DeathStarDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 15:58 | Message # 2018
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote Canleskis ()
It was added in RC2


Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Sound effects were added in RC2 DeathStar.


Thanks for the info!

EDIT: Concerning the sounds, there's three minor things that could be improved(SpaceEngineer is probably already aware of them):

1. The sound should be muted when in vacuum

2. The sound should be audible in free-movement mode too

3. Breaking the sound barrier should be a thing


Edited by DeathStar - Monday, 04.04.2016, 16:39
 
the_nerervarineDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 16:45 | Message # 2019
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I absolutely LOVE RC2!! It is release ready and is such a major leap from RC1. While this might be nit picky I am not a fan of the new sound effects and prefer the older ones.

*Edit I also found this guy being procedurally generated*

Attachments: 1353328.jpg(493Kb)





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

Edited by the_nerervarine - Monday, 04.04.2016, 17:18
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 17:21 | Message # 2020
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
When piloting a starship, I can't reach some buttons of the ship panel below because is covered by the time panel on the left and it spawns up on mouse over. I have a 15.4 laptop display.



And when the autopilot says it warps, it really warps to death, I crashed on the planet. I don't know if it's a bug, though.
As I always say, "Don't drink and warp".

Attachments: 4682236.jpg(300Kb)





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 17:41 | Message # 2021
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
I can't reach some buttons of the ship panel below because is covered by the time panel on the left and it spawns up on mouse over.


I reported this as well but I don't think there is much that can be done. One thing I noticed is if you carefully move the mouse down it won't trigger the menu pop up.

Quote Mosfet ()
I crashed on the planet. I don't know if it's a bug, though.


Auto pilot is a bit buggy at the moment. You could always do what I do and manually fly smile





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
VikerulesDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 17:46 | Message # 2022
Observer
Group: Newbies
Sweden
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
i have a question about "known/famous" galaxies for example NGC 6872. in the game its a spiral galaxy with a diameter of 370 000 lightyears if i remember correctly but sources say its supposed to be around 520 000 lightyears in diameter. also its not supposed to be a spiral galaxy but instead a thin long barred galaxy. also the famous ic 1011 elliptic galaxy supposed to be 6 million lightyears in diameter but is only 40 000 lightyears across in the game. why is this?

Edited by Vikerules - Monday, 04.04.2016, 17:47
 
Sab0oDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 17:51 | Message # 2023
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Quote The_Blazer ()
Secondly, can the new "smooth" free camera be disabled with some setting or config tweak? As much as I love smooth everything, freecam smoothing seems to be too inconsistent and floaty IMO, playing with it is annoying, frankly. It feels sort of like mouse acceleration in bad console ports.


This is the first thing I noticed in the new RC, please give us an option to disable it. The smoothing effect is also frame rate dependent, making for an even worse experience.

A bug I've noticed: If you press hold a movement key, then press and hold shift, then let go of the movement key, then let go of shift, the movement key will continue to take effect until you press it again. This happens to me often because I'll be moving around, then zoom in on something with shift+leftclick.

EDIT: Another bug, sound effect volume does not seem to not be applied properly on startup. It's set to 0, but I hear menu sound effects until I go to sound options and move the slider, and then set it back to 0.


Edited by Sab0o - Monday, 04.04.2016, 18:13
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 18:33 | Message # 2024
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
I reported this as well but I don't think there is much that can be done

In RC1 that panel was completely hidden for me, so I actually thought it was on purpose, doh! :)



I concur with you on manual flying, we don't want to end like this, don't we?


Attachments: 4167099.jpg(303Kb)





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Monday, 04.04.2016, 18:42
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 04.04.2016, 19:00 | Message # 2025
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
The sound should be muted when in vacuum

Not if you assume the listener is a pilot on the ship instead of a free camera. Also, given the technology at the time, there's no reason sound cannot be re-created digitally for the benefit of listeners in a vacuum.

Quote DeathStar ()
The sound should be audible in free-movement mode too

It should be, but that might be difficult given the way that it was implemented.

Quote DeathStar ()
Breaking the sound barrier should be a thing

That's also not easy to add, if you want to do it right.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 135 of 221«12133134135136137220221»
Search: