ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 17.03.2016, 17:51 | Message # 1846
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote Kosh ()
I have noticed that Venus doesn't show a lot of cloud structure in SE 0.974 RC 1 compared to SE 0.973. Although the cloud structure on Venus is quite subtle in the first place. This might be a bug related to the shader issues that might have already been reported, If so I apologize for this post.

It was changed to more realistic (with less contrast).

Quote SpaceHopper ()
I think this got buried. I'm trying to find out how to fix this problem. The stars in star clusters are still there, but for some reason the star finder can't detect them. It worked a few days earlier, and changed somehow without me installing a new addon or changing anything in the config/main.cfg file or anything. I hope to have someone help me soon. Closing SE and reopening did nothing, and the same went for deleting the cache.

Everything works fine for me:



Maybe you are use too high search radius. Stars in a cluster are searched after stars in a corresponding galaxy sector, so they simply may have no room in the 10,000 star list. Or maybe something indeed was broken in RC1, but fixed now.

Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Hmm. The 3D water seems to turn itself off randomly, even though I know I turned it on. However the issue seems to be too random to reproduce. Is anyone else experiencing this?

Is it possible what disable water is bound to some frequently used key, such as G or movement key?

Quote cah9tlan ()
I've encountered some die-hard problem that effects only Terra-type planets. I named it CHEESE PLANET - partly good, partly very bad . I also wanted to be helpful and tried it on 0.973 and it affects that version also. Hope you know how to solve it . It is very distinctive when you switch off atmosphere. Also on such wormholes altitude is "-1.#IO Gly". Screenshots and logs attached.

Did you installed the most recent ATI driver? Try clean driver and SE install, try with and without atioglxx.dll in the system folder.

Attachments: 6425273.jpg(434.4 Kb)





 
BridgettenDate: Thursday, 17.03.2016, 18:19 | Message # 1847
Space Tourist
Group: Banned
United States
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer Found a procedural white subgiant!! (IV subgiant) that is rare? There will be procedural subgiants in RC2?


Edited by Bridgetten - Thursday, 17.03.2016, 18:24
 
parameciumkidDate: Thursday, 17.03.2016, 19:50 | Message # 1848
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
@cah9tlan oic. Excuse me then ^^;




Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
BrenoDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 01:22 | Message # 1849
Observer
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
Is it just me or is anyone else having pretty bad fps drops near black holes? And they also look kinda distorted.


Edited by Breno - Friday, 18.03.2016, 01:23
 
Donatelo200Date: Friday, 18.03.2016, 01:37 | Message # 1850
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
What are your specs? I usually maintain 150fps+ around them anymore without Vsync.




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
BrenoDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 01:42 | Message # 1851
Observer
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
Quote Donatelo200 ()
What are your specs? I usually maintain 150fps+ around them anymore without Vsync.

I don't think the problem is my computer, yes, it's a potato, but a potato that runs +40fps most of the time. The problem is with the black holes themselves, before the 0.9.7.4 patch it didn't lag at all, but after it I can't even get near them without getting like 0.7 - 1 fps.
 
Donatelo200Date: Friday, 18.03.2016, 01:59 | Message # 1852
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
You could try disabling High quality black holes. Although I know not where that setting has disappeared off to.




CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
BrenoDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 02:11 | Message # 1853
Observer
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
Quote Donatelo200 ()
You could try disabling High quality black holes. Although I know not where that setting has disappeared off to.

I did that, sadly no results sad
 
FireintheholeDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 08:51 | Message # 1854
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote Breno ()
Is it just me or is anyone else having pretty bad fps drops near black holes? And they also look kinda distorted.

Seems like you've lost the blueshift effect as well.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 14:55 | Message # 1855
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Invisible asteroids.

I have repeatedly noted that objects are only visible under certain viewing angles.
The objects shown here (respectively not shown) belong to a small asteroid belt, which I have set for testing around the Earth.




Attachments: 4395093.jpg(275.0 Kb) · 1206606.jpg(269.5 Kb) · ering_250.sc(156.0 Kb) · 4453922.log(93.2 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 18.03.2016, 17:49
 
SalvoDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 15:27 | Message # 1856
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
I have repeatedly noted that objects are only visible under certain viewing angles.

I encountered that problem too, but I was not able to replicate it.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 16:17 | Message # 1857
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
I encountered that problem too,

I have not tested all 250 + objects in this asteroid belt, but it seems to happen with all the objects. But not with my vulcanoid asteroids; which are in a close orbit around the sun.

I have tested it with a SE-installation in which there are no other addons.





Don't forget to look here.

 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 17:48 | Message # 1858
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Regarding: Invisible asteroids.

I think I've found the problem. It seems to happen only with objects that orbit around an object that revolves around a barycenter, as is the case with the Earth-Moon system. If I let the asteroids revolve also around the barycenter, they are fine.



However there is then another problem. A orbital period of over 1.6 million years, seems a bit exaggerated. wink



Apparently SpaceEngine can not properly calculate the orbital periods for such a system.

Attachments: 2178491.jpg(394.5 Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 18.03.2016, 18:40
 
SpaceHopperDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 20:02 | Message # 1859
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Maybe you are use too high search radius. Stars in a cluster are searched after stars in a corresponding galaxy sector, so they simply may have no room in the 10,000 star list. Or maybe something indeed was broken in RC1, but fixed now.

Well, I tried reinstalling RC1 and lowering the search radius to 1 light-year (I was searching near the center of Omega Centauri). And, believe me, it just didn't work. No stars at all appeared in the star finder. The star finder worked with ordinary stars, but not stars in a cluster, unless that cluster was the one in the center of a galaxy, such as the Milky Way or the LMC. I even tried going to UKS 1 like you did in that picture, but the star finder didn't work there either.

Edit: Oh, and I just noticed another problem. This happens to black holes at the center of clusters:

If I turn the camera a bit:

Attachments: 5418532.jpg(248.4 Kb) · 2732133.jpg(255.5 Kb)





3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates.
***
Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023
***
Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.


Edited by SpaceHopper - Friday, 18.03.2016, 20:17
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Friday, 18.03.2016, 22:57 | Message # 1860
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Is it possible what disable water is bound to some frequently used key, such as G or movement key?

It is bound to Shift+W in my installation.

But I know someone else responded to my post as well and said he has this issue too, so it might not be a key map issue.





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Friday, 18.03.2016, 23:11
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: