ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Brett001Date: Monday, 29.02.2016, 11:05 | Message # 1711
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 84
Status: Offline
Quote
Moreover, I find the general tone and the use of bold a little aggressive. Remember that you haven't paid for Space Engine, and that he makes it alone.


There was no such intention. I just inquired. Bold characters because better separated from my message to cah9tlan. smile
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 29.02.2016, 14:35 | Message # 1712
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Inarius,
it is actually standard here to write the name of the addressed user in bold.

In fact, this is done automatically when you click on the user name above the avatar image.
It is then inserted in bold font in the edit window.

But the exclamation mark behind the name is too much! wink

But otherwise you're right:

Brett001:
Never ask for a release date! angry tongue biggrin





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Monday, 29.02.2016, 14:38
 
FireintheholeDate: Monday, 29.02.2016, 14:58 | Message # 1713
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Inarius, JackDole, I agree with you. A better questions would be: "Have you started working on volumetric clouds?". That sort of questions doesn't put as much pressure on SpaceEngineer.

But that question is kind of useless anyway since SpaceEngineer will inform us about such an awesome progress.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
parameciumkidDate: Monday, 29.02.2016, 17:42 | Message # 1714
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()


Quote parameciumkid ()
was SpaceEngine always 32-bit

yes

Quote parameciumkid ()
do any plans exist to make it 64-bit

no

I now understand why it keeps crashing due to running out of memory despite my 12 GB of RAM. :\





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 29.02.2016, 19:44 | Message # 1715
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote cah9tlan ()
3. ANY WAY OF RETRIEVING PRECISE CURRENT COORDINATES (like lat/long on the left). In every form in order to tap it out in above-mentioned interface or at least console (in that case in console format). FOR EXAMPLE, to mark your favourite spot on Mars or Triton or whatever and land accurately there next time without any trouble .

You may save locations in the F6 menu for this.

Quote Jamjars ()
I found they have a diameter of 39 AU! That's 4200 times the Sun's diameter.

Quote Jamjars ()
Also, the majority of stars surrounding Sag A* are identical blue main sequence stars.

Sagittarius A* system is made in catalog, so this is may be due to incorrect/missing data.

Quote Jamjars ()
After further inspection, it seems some galaxies don't have their core orbiting stars, i.e. Andromeda and Triangulum.

Some galaxies also have cataloged central black holes, but without orbiting stars. SE do not generate them procedurally.

Quote Kubacki99 ()
and pressing gtrl+g on the galaxies doesn't takee you exactly to the central black hole (at least in Milky way and Andromeda), or black holes aren't in the centres.

Second. Catalog black hole cannot be placed precisely in the center of a galaxy due to rounding errors.

Quote parameciumkid ()
in which case do any plans exist to make it 64-bit

SE don't need 64 bit, it never uses more than 2-3 Gb of RAM. Out of memory is an issue of default C++ memory manager - it can't release free memory blocks to the system, so aplication keep consuming virtual memory, despite what real RAM usage is just 2 Gb. Crash occurs then virtual memory size reaches 4 Gb. I will implement my own memory manager in future updates, but before that I reduced memory requirement and optimized some stuff to keep RAM usage below 3 Gb.

Quote Salvo ()
In C++ it's not so hard to switch from 32-bit to 64-bit

No, it's hard. SE uses pointers everywhere, and switch to 64 bit means what pointers must be changed to 64 bit also, manually through entire code. Pointers are stored in various structures, some of which must have fixed size, pointer mathematics is used in many places, etc.

Quote Salvo ()
I don't know if there are some functions/libraries that would not be working anymore

And also this. I have to find and compile 64-bit versions of all libraries used in SE (http://en.spaceengine.org/index/license/0-30)

Quote Brett001 ()
When expected the volumetric clouds in the SE? About?

I don't know.





 
the_nerervarineDate: Monday, 29.02.2016, 21:19 | Message # 1716
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
SE don't need 64 bit, it never uses more than 2-3 Gb of RAM.


That blows my mind that SE only needs 2 or 3 gigs to run





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
LookAtDatDakkaDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 00:22 | Message # 1717
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
That blows my mind that SE only needs 2 or 3 gigs to run


Agreed!





NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB

Edited by LookAtDatDakka - Wednesday, 02.03.2016, 00:12
 
abrasaxDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 05:37 | Message # 1718
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
That blows my mind that SE only needs 2 or 3 gigs to run


This really shouldn't blow your mind. All those fancy games we play are demanding because developers usually don't worry about optimization. The idea behind those games is to sell new hardware, and to persuade you that is how it needs to be.
 
MajorTomDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 07:03 | Message # 1719
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Hi Spaceenginer,

another question..... the all planet textures in addons... can u link to another site maybe called "uploaded" or another hoster? Here in Germany ANY person they used torrents is in fact a criminal by law. many lawyer search people in germany they share files over torrent and send them an statement of claim (by an Datavolume from 32GB most likely) ... for my person i will download the textures but no chance over torrent.... is there any way?





Win 7 64bit, Intel i5, 3GHz, 4GB RAM, HD2500 Onboard. 0.974_RC3 works very good
Win 7 64bit, AMD X4 955, 3,4GHz, 8 GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX960 DC2OC. 0.974_RC3 works very good
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 07:35 | Message # 1720
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
SE uses pointers everywhere, and switch to 64 bit means what pointers must be changed to 64 bit also

Oh, yeah, you're right. I've really forgot about it.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
parameciumkidDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 08:33 | Message # 1721
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Well I do hope that someday SE does get converted to 64-bit. 32-bit is getting behind the times, even if it's sufficient to run the game in its current state.




Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
PrzeszczepDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 08:39 | Message # 1722
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Poland
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Quote abrasax ()
This really shouldn't blow your mind. All those fancy games we play are demanding because developers usually don't worry about optimization. The idea behind those games is to sell new hardware, and to persuade you that is how it needs to be.

This is wrong. All modern games are made to be run on consoles without much of modification. People are actually complaining about consoles slowing down graphics development. Look at The Witcher 3, it can be played on 4GB of RAM but if you have 16 it can use up to 10.

Quote MajorTom ()
another question..... the all planet textures in addons... can u link to another site maybe called "uploaded" or another hoster? Here in Germany ANY person they used torrents is in fact a criminal by law. many lawyer search people in germany they share files over torrent and send them an statement of claim (by an Datavolume from 32GB most likely) ... for my person i will download the textures but no chance over torrent.... is there any way?

Many game patchers use p2p. How do you update/download games in Germany?





CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K | GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 970 | RAM: 8 GB
 
MosfetDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 09:14 | Message # 1723
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote MajorTom ()
Here in Germany ANY person they used torrents is in fact a criminal by law. many lawyer search people in germany they share files over torrent and send them an statement of claim (by an Datavolume from 32GB most likely)


You're talking about *illegal* torrents of copyrighted material, I hope.
Torrents of SE material are perfectly safe and legal, as far as I can tell.

On the other hand, if your lawyers use downloads of legitimate torrents as a leverage to infer that probably you did it also for copyrighted material and they are eager to ransack your place in order to get you, it's another story.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
MajorTomDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 11:47 | Message # 1724
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Mosfet,

the fact is using torrent and you has no control over the files from other people there on your machine in the shared folder... is one file a film or musictitle you are distirbute a copyright material.... i have years ago massive trouble like that with lawyer in germany....





Win 7 64bit, Intel i5, 3GHz, 4GB RAM, HD2500 Onboard. 0.974_RC3 works very good
Win 7 64bit, AMD X4 955, 3,4GHz, 8 GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX960 DC2OC. 0.974_RC3 works very good


Edited by MajorTom - Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 11:52
 
abrasaxDate: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 12:08 | Message # 1725
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
Quote MajorTom ()
the fact is using torrent and you has no control over the files from other people there on your machine in the shared folder... is one file a film or musictitle you are distirbute a copyright material.... i have years ago massive trouble like that with lawyer in germany....


This isn't true. By downloading torrents you are not sharing anything else except the torrent you are downloading. Noone has access to your other files nor you to theirs.

Torrent is a legitimate option for downloading and sharing files and you can even find music, movies and books legally shared on torrent trackers.

Torrent in itself is not illegal, it is maybe the best way to download content.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: