ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
FireintheholeDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 14:43 | Message # 1681
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote LookAtDatDakka ()
I can't load your pictures.

Neither can I.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
RodrigoDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 15:30 | Message # 1682
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline


This is weird.

Besides the temperature issue ( I think tidal heating is way too powerful), I feel that close orbits, speccially in double planet systems, are too common. I couldn't find any system that have similarities with the earth-moon system, regarding the orbit periods.

Attachments: 6805358.jpg(205.4 Kb)
 
dudefinalDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 16:11 | Message # 1683
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 37
Status: Offline
Quote LookAtDatDakka ()

I can't load your pictures.

Quote Fireinthehole ()
Neither can I.


I fixed them... I think... I hope...





"Its impossible" - CASE "No, It's necessary" - Cooper

Piece of crap Toshiba AIO...
 
funsihdDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 16:13 | Message # 1684
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Hey,
Can you make Fictional Planets and Worm Holes in the next update? :D
It would be very very very nice

(Please make Darwin IV but PLEASE the Surface from the documentation and NOT from the Book <3)

Darwin IV in Photoshop:


Edited by funsihd - Thursday, 25.02.2016, 16:14
 
the_nerervarineDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 18:03 | Message # 1685
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote funsihd ()
Hey,
Can you make Fictional Planets


There will never be any 'fictional' planets in Space Engine. And until Worm Holes are proven as a reality they will also not be implemented in Space Engine.





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
ZackGDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 19:39 | Message # 1686
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Quote the_nerervarine ()
There will never be any 'fictional' planets in Space Engine. And until Worm Holes are proven as a reality they will also not be implemented in Space Engine.

That was a harsh comment to say. we may never know if wormholes are real or not. you dont just go saying "No" to a new user for a simple question like that. And FYI there are fictional planet addons in the addon forum so if you have nothing else to say then dont say it.





MOBO:ASUS Sabertooth Mark I
CPU:Intel I7 4790 3.6Ghz
GPU:NVIDIA GTX960 4GB
Memory:32GB 1600Mhz (Corsair 4x8GB)
 
DeathStarDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 19:43 | Message # 1687
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote ZackG ()
That was a harsh comment to say. we may never know if wormholes are real or not. you dont just go saying "No" to a new user for a simple question like that. And FYI there are fictional planet addons in the addon forum so if you have nothing else to say then dont say it.


What exactly was "harsh" in his comment? He was just being upfront. Also, he himself said that wormholes won't be implemented unless they are proven to exist. As for fictional planets - while it is true they exist in addons, funsihd asked about the base game, not addons.
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 20:26 | Message # 1688
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
He was just being upfront.

However, the comment is not entirely accurate.

Wormholes are already possible in SpaceEngine, they are just not randomly generated somewhere from the engine, but have to be scripted. They are not yet functional, but will probably be sometime in the future.

And fictional systems were in earlier distributions already included, for example, the Avatar system. This is just no longer included because at Alpha Centauri a real exoplanet was discovered.
But, the system is still here.

There is also the script 'SolarSys3000.sc', a fictional version of our solar system. It is in 'Catalogs0974.pak'. It's just not enabled in the 'Universe.cfg'.





Don't forget to look here.

 
DeathStarDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 20:35 | Message # 1689
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Wormholes are already possible in SpaceEngine, they are just not randomly generated somewhere from the engine, but have to be scripted. They are not yet functional, but will probably be sometime in the future.


I actually had no idea about this until now. Guess you learn something new every day :)

Quote JackDole ()
And fictional systems were in earlier distributions already included, for example, the Avatar system. This is just no longer included because at Alpha Centauri a real exoplanet was discovered.
But, the system is still here.

There is also the script 'SolarSys3000.sc', a fictional version of our solar system. It is in 'Catalogs0974.pak'. It's just not enabled in the 'Universe.cfg'.


Yes, I remember Pandora existing in previous versions. However, these fictional catalogs/planets are probably just intended as minor easter eggs - I doubt SpaceEngineer would ever dedicate a significant amount of time to add more of these fictional systems. That's what modders will undoubtedly do.
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 21:16 | Message # 1690
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
I doubt SpaceEngineer would ever dedicate a significant amount of time to add more of these fictional systems.

This certainly not. But I think when someone creates a good fictional system, there is a real chance that it will be included in a distribution.

Of course it should be a known system; just as the avatar system.





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Thursday, 25.02.2016, 21:30
 
Donatelo200Date: Thursday, 25.02.2016, 22:32 | Message # 1691
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
@dudefinal

How did you fix the volcanoes?





CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
the_nerervarineDate: Friday, 26.02.2016, 02:29 | Message # 1692
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote ZackG ()
That was a harsh comment to say. we may never know if wormholes are real or not. you dont just go saying "No" to a new user for a simple question like that. And FYI there are fictional planet addons in the addon forum so if you have nothing else to say then dont say it.

How was I harsh?





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
MajorTomDate: Friday, 26.02.2016, 10:01 | Message # 1693
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
hi @all,

maybe i found an bug in the simulation? The temperature of earth is 13.085 Celsius (+/-1)? see Screenshot.... i realize that no commata is in use.... sorry for that....

another question. is any chance to fix the time scale at 100x by start the simulation? user.cfg edit at UserTimeScale 100 won´t work .

Attachments: 0387680.jpg(389.9 Kb)





Win 7 64bit, Intel i5, 3GHz, 4GB RAM, HD2500 Onboard. 0.974_RC3 works very good
Win 7 64bit, AMD X4 955, 3,4GHz, 8 GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX960 DC2OC. 0.974_RC3 works very good


Edited by MajorTom - Friday, 26.02.2016, 12:45
 
cah9tlanDate: Friday, 26.02.2016, 12:17 | Message # 1694
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
Hi, I've encountered some fact that really flummoxed me. R136a1 - the most massive star known has oblate shape. Really oblate. It's pretty well-known object and I've read about it some articles and never heard of it's oblate form or rapid rotation.

That must be spherical or am I missing something?
 
FireintheholeDate: Friday, 26.02.2016, 12:48 | Message # 1695
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
cah9tlan, large stars have extremely low density and gravity at the surface (the surface is thinner than the thinnest vacuum man can create on Earth), and thus they are very sensitive to distortions. As I understand it.




Love SpaceEngine!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Search: