ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 16.04.2015, 22:59 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all isues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing videocard-specific issues

    If you do not know which videocard do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Nvidia: Water missing on terras, clouds are below the surface


    ATI/AMD: Crash on approaching to the black hole, neutron star or white dwarf, on using ship's hyperdrive, or when enabling the Oculus Rift mode or the Fish Eye mode


    ATI/AMD: Crash on Startup on Windows 10


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Spaceship disappears when far from a star


    7) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    8) Problems with very high resolution displays


    9) Problems in Windows 10 + AMD/ATI




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:
  •  
    mdennyhDate: Monday, 30.05.2016, 15:52 | Message # 496
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    Quote Flandre-SDM ()
    I'll see if tonight I can revert to an older driver version, and see if it fixes the issue, which I'm sure it will.

    Yes!! it will. I rolled back to all the way down to 361.91. I skip 362 since I had a little problem with BSOD after I attempted to install that version with multi monitor setup. Whats wrong with you NVIDIA...??
     
    Flandre-SDMDate: Tuesday, 31.05.2016, 22:53 | Message # 497
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    Yea, hopefully it'll be fixed soon or something. It's kind of strange that the drivers actually affected the program in such a way. I wonder what could be the issue, given it actually messed up the generated terrain and what not, since it just works as a display driver. Or maybe there's more to it, and I just don't have the knowledge.

    Edited by Flandre-SDM - Tuesday, 31.05.2016, 22:54
     
    simonecinque1992Date: Wednesday, 22.06.2016, 21:16 | Message # 498
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 470
    Status: Offline
    The "Planetary System" button disappeared in RC3 and it was so useful :(


    (don't mind the square in the new button)


    Attachments: 7581550.jpg(125.9 Kb)





    My Mods and Addons

    Packard Bell
    Windows 10 Pro
    Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
    4 GB
    64 bit Operative System


    Edited by simonecinque1992 - Wednesday, 22.06.2016, 21:34
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 22.06.2016, 22:16 | Message # 499
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8717
    Status: Offline
    simonecinque1992, 1) this is NOT the place to post about 0.974 issues, 2) the button IS there, it just changed icons.




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    simonecinque1992Date: Thursday, 23.06.2016, 09:44 | Message # 500
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 470
    Status: Offline
    HarbingerDawn,
    Code

    1) this is NOT the place to post about 0.974 issues

    Sorry I read 0.9.7.4 >_>

    Code

    2) the button IS there, it just changed icons

    Oh.. found it, thanks! ...and sorry..

    EDIT:
    If this thread is for 0.9.7.2/3 bugs or issues then where's the 0.9.7.4 one? %)
    Because I found a bug on clouds in RC3

    EDIT EDIT: nvm found it





    My Mods and Addons

    Packard Bell
    Windows 10 Pro
    Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
    4 GB
    64 bit Operative System


    Edited by simonecinque1992 - Thursday, 23.06.2016, 09:52
     
    deejayaechDate: Friday, 24.06.2016, 17:36 | Message # 501
    Space Tourist
    Group: Users
    Pirate
    Messages: 25
    Status: Offline
    help very odd efect near black hole or worm hole yes wormholes are in the game

    Added (24.06.2016, 17:36)
    ---------------------------------------------
    hello is anywon listing???!!!

    Attachments: 3532372.jpg(155.0 Kb) · 5363655.jpg(340.5 Kb)
     
    SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 24.06.2016, 21:32 | Message # 502
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4800
    Status: Offline
    Quote deejayaech ()
    help very odd efect near black hole or worm hole yes wormholes are in the game

    hello is anywon listing???!!!


    Graphics settings -> enable Hi quality black holes





     
    deejayaechDate: Saturday, 25.06.2016, 03:26 | Message # 503
    Space Tourist
    Group: Users
    Pirate
    Messages: 25
    Status: Offline
    I can't it might lag my game to death i have a GTX280

    Added (25.06.2016, 02:51)
    ---------------------------------------------
    and this is a little of topic but did you know wormholes were in the game?!

    Added (25.06.2016, 03:26)
    ---------------------------------------------
    btw sorry im in 0.9.7.4 RC 4

     
    abrasaxDate: Wednesday, 29.06.2016, 12:33 | Message # 504
    Space Tourist
    Group: Users
    Serbia
    Messages: 33
    Status: Offline
    Could you add the visible skybox in fisheye, cylindrical and oculus mode to the list of engine limitations.

    I use SE in our planetarium for my own amusement and the visible skybox distracts from an otherwise awesome experience. I realize it is not a priority and probably not an easy thing to correct considering it would require a new way of rendering non perspective display modes but I would feel a bit better if it was at least on the list of things to do :)

    Also, keep up the good work, this software is worth waiting for!

    PS
    I would like to ask for permission to use SE in our free public shows? We would use it to show galaxy types, black holes, and certain solar system phenomena. We would, of course, put a disclaimer and point people to your website.
     
    rithchilamDate: Thursday, 30.06.2016, 19:15 | Message # 505
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    Whenever I get close to solar system planets only, SE crashes on me! I downloaded the planet textures, and it still is a problem. Help and thank you smile
     
    EvilPandaDate: Friday, 08.07.2016, 14:22 | Message # 506
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United Kingdom
    Messages: 7
    Status: Offline
    Hi guys, relatively new here but recently I've been attempting to play Space Engine but failing to do so. It launches fine but once I'm at the main menu, the game sometimes instead shows a white screen. After that, it's unresponsive and Windows closes it. I've updated my Radeon graphics card to the latest update and reinstalled Space Engine - both did not work. I'm also using version 0.9.7.4 Release Candidate 3.

    I'll leave my log as an attachment and tell me what I should do to fix it.

    Attachments: 2677974.log(44.3 Kb)
     
    JL2017Date: Monday, 11.07.2016, 02:34 | Message # 507
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 68
    Status: Offline
    So I downloaded this game 6 days ago, and for the most part its been running fine, just some lag here and there. But for the past hour and a half, its been crashing on startup and I can't figure out why. It was working just fine earlier today. I went to the system folder, but there wasn't a "atioglxx.dll" file to delete. Please help!

    Edited by JL2017 - Monday, 11.07.2016, 02:43
     
    JackDoleDate: Monday, 11.07.2016, 11:15 | Message # 508
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    JL2017,
    post the 'se.log' file! It is in the folder '[spaceengine]\system'.





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    ahoopDate: Monday, 11.07.2016, 12:50 | Message # 509
    Observer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 12
    Status: Offline
    Quote SpaceEngineer ()
    ATI/AMD: Crash on Startup on Windows 10

    Open the system folder in your SpaceEngine directory and delete the file atioglxx.dll.


    File isn't there. Don't know why else it would crash.
    Edit: I've been playing this for a while but it started crashing recently. Today I just typed in 'atio' and found the .dll file in another folder. I deleted it but SE is still not working. I think I changed a compatibility mode since it said it was running on Windows 8 compatibility. I changed it to Windows 7, then to XP, but neither worked. I just now downloaded .973 and can see the file again, but I'm in the middle of loading, so I can't delete it right away. Ok it actually opened with the file still there, but I went ahead and removed it. Thanks Jack smile

    Attachments: 3021041.log(28.4 Kb)





    Samsung Notebook (Laptop)
    Proc: AMD A8-3530MX APU. VC: AMD Radeon HD 6620G. RAM: 8 GB. OS: Windows 10.

    Custom Gaming PC (Desktop)
    Proc: Intel Core i7-4790K CPU. VC: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960. RAM: 16 GB. OS: Windows 10.


    Edited by ahoop - Wednesday, 13.07.2016, 00:26
     
    JackDoleDate: Monday, 11.07.2016, 13:27 | Message # 510
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    ahoop,
    you could:

    1. Try to update your graphics card driver.

    2. Update your SpaceEngine version. The latest official version is 0.973. You can download it here. This is just a patch and has to be unpacked in the SpaceEngine folder.
    Then delete the file 'atioglxx.dll'!





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
    Search: