ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 16.04.2015, 22:59 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all isues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing videocard-specific issues

    If you do not know which videocard do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Nvidia: Water missing on terras, clouds are below the surface


    ATI/AMD: Crash on approaching to the black hole, neutron star or white dwarf, on using ship's hyperdrive, or when enabling the Oculus Rift mode or the Fish Eye mode


    ATI/AMD: Crash on Startup on Windows 10


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Spaceship disappears when far from a star


    7) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    8) Problems with very high resolution displays


    9) Problems in Windows 10 + AMD/ATI




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:
  •  
    htha9587Date: Tuesday, 01.03.2016, 04:21 | Message # 421
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 6
    Status: Offline
    So I tried Release Candidate 1 on one of my School's LAN Party computers, and It ran it absolutely GOOD. The star-planet shader wasn't even an Issue. Now I know, an upgrade for me is necessary. Weird thing is, my home computer ran 0.9.7.1 with no issues at all. Not sure what got changed in 0.9.7.2 to the current version. Regardless, I found I just need a better setup.
     
    FaceDeerDate: Friday, 04.03.2016, 04:37 | Message # 422
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Canada
    Messages: 117
    Status: Offline
    I've noticed that planet map export in cylindrical mode seems to not be working quite right. It looks like there are multiple layers of texture generation in the diffuse map that are stretched slightly differently. For example, here's the full size cylindrical map for RS 8414-1792-8-8546583-1286 B4:



    And here's one of the cube map sections showing the ocean in the upper left corner without the stretching effect:



    you can see how the northwestern shore of the ocean has a sort of "beach" added to it by the difference in texture alignment. This pattern seems consistent across several different Terras, and occurs both on my home computer (with an ATI card) and my work computer (NVIDIA) with RC1 so it seems like a consistent problem.


    Edited by FaceDeer - Friday, 04.03.2016, 04:39
     
    Ripperm91Date: Wednesday, 09.03.2016, 02:14 | Message # 423
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    Ive tried it on 2 different computers and I wont even start.
    at the very first loading screen, it says initializing the filesystems. then it just says it failed to start. Sorry no screenshot.
     
    MosfetDate: Wednesday, 09.03.2016, 10:49 | Message # 424
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 754
    Status: Offline
    have you checked the suggestions in the sticky post on top of the page? You should have a se.log file located in the spaceengine /system directory.




    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    Ripperm91Date: Wednesday, 09.03.2016, 17:44 | Message # 425
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    heres what my .se file says
    SpaceEngine Version 0.9.7.2 beta

    STARTING
    Loading script "config/main.cfg"
    [MT] Loading script "config/universe.cfg"
    [MT] Loading script "config/user.cfg"
    [MT] Loading image "textures/common/splash13.jpg"
    DONE

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: Intel
    [MT] Renderer: Intel® Q45/Q43 Express Chipset
    [MT] OpenGL version: 2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2869
    [MT] GLSL version: 1.20 - Intel Build 8.15.10.2869
    [MT] Saving script "config/main.cfg"
    [MT]
    CRITICAL ERROR: Old OpenGL version (2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2869). [MT] Program terminated.

    INITIALIZING OPENAL
    [MT] ERROR: InitSound(): Default sound device not present

    INITIALIZING LOADER
    [MT] RAM granularty: 4 kb
    [MT] Total RAM: 4095 Mb
    [MT] Available RAM: 3931 Mb
    [MT] Dynamic video memory detection is unsupported
    [MT] Dedicated VRAM: 2048 Mb (from main.cfg)
    [MT] Searching for pak files
    [MT] Loading "catalogs/CatalogsSE.pak": 5 folders, 24 files
    [MT] Loading "locale/Fonts.pak": 0 folders, 8 files
    [MT] Loading "models/atmospheres/Atmospheres.pak": 0 folders, 10 files
    [MT] Loading "models/spacecrafts/ShipsModelsSE.pak": 2 folders, 110 files
    [MT] Loading "system/shaders.pak": 1 folders, 134 files
    [MT] Loading "textures/common/CommonTexSE.pak": 0 folders, 16 files
    [MT] Loading "textures/galaxies/GalaxiesTexSE.pak": 0 folders, 177 files
    [MT] Loading "textures/nebulae/NebulaeTexSE.pak": 0 folders, 53 files
    [MT] Loading "textures/planets/PlanetsTexSE.pak": 362 folders, 33958 files
    [MT] Loading "textures/spacecrafts/ShipsTexSE.pak": 3 folders, 35 files
    [MT] Total: 34525 files in 10 paks
    [MT] Initializing the filesystem data
    DONE

    INITIALIZING OCULUS RIFT
    [MT] Oculus Rift HMD not detected, using virtual debug HMD
    [MT] Display device:
    [MT] Product name: Oculus Rift DK1
    [MT] Manufacturer: Oculus VR
    [MT] Display resolution: 1280 x 800
    [MT] Render resolution: 2242 x 1553
    [MT] Default FOV: 129.872
    [MT] Maximum FOV: 149.937
    [MT] Interpup. distance: 6.4
    DONE

    LOADING LOCALIZATIONS
    [MT] 18 localizations found
    DONE

    INITIALIZING ENGINE
    [MT] Loading script "models/nebulae/Models.cfg"
    [MT] Initializing nebulae models
    [MT] Loading image "textures/common/CommonTexSE.pak/particle.png"
    [MT] Loading shader "system/shaders/particle.glsl"
    [MT] ERROR: Compiling shader "system/shaders/particle.glsl":
    ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
    ERROR: 0:1: '' : syntax error #version
    ERROR: 0:14: 'out' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
    ERROR: 0:15: 'out' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
    ERROR: 0:43: 'mat2x2' : undeclared identifier
    ERROR: 0:43: 'Mat' : syntax error parse error
    [MT] ERROR: Compiling shader "system/shaders/particle.glsl":
    ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
    ERROR: 0:1: '' : syntax error #version
    ERROR: 0:52: 'in' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
    ERROR: 0:53: 'in' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
    [MT] ERROR: Linking shader "system/shaders/particle.glsl":

    DONE

    INITIALIZING ENGINE
    DONE

    RUNNING ENGINE

    ...................

    ...................

    CLOSING LOADER
    [MT] Waiting until loader tasks completed
    DONE

    DESTROYING UNIVERSE
    [MT] Destroying planets
    [MT] Destroying stars
    [MT] Destroying nebulae
    [MT] Destroying clusters
    [MT] Destroying galaxies
    DONE

    FINISHED
     
    BridgettenDate: Wednesday, 09.03.2016, 17:50 | Message # 426
    Space Tourist
    Group: Banned
    United States
    Messages: 22
    Status: Offline
    Quote
    ERROR: 0:52: 'in' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
    ERROR: 0:53: 'in' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later


    I seen your crash log you have outdated GLSL need to update
     
    Ripperm91Date: Wednesday, 09.03.2016, 18:16 | Message # 427
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    yeah i saw that too when i copied it over. just spent 20 mins trying but i cant figure that out. there doesnt seem to be a download link on there website... or anywhere else according to google
     
    MosfetDate: Wednesday, 09.03.2016, 21:33 | Message # 428
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 754
    Status: Offline
    if the computer manufacturer has not provided video card updates after february 2013, then you could try downloading last update available from Intel download website.
    Assuming that Intel® Q45/Q43 Express Chipset is the correct one, and assuming you're using windows 7 64bit, a possible update could be this:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downloa....xe-?v=t
    If this doesn't do the trick, I'm afraid that those Intel chipsets are not good enough for SE.

    there are a lot of assumptions, more than I usually like to take on these matters... sorry not enough informations.





    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    Ripperm91Date: Thursday, 10.03.2016, 15:28 | Message # 429
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    Thanks alot for that link! all your assumptions are right including the one where my card isn't up to specs for the Engine. ill be I'll be upgrading soon. Thanks again
     
    CaptVanFlightDate: Saturday, 19.03.2016, 09:45 | Message # 430
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Thailand
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    My SE will not install because it cant find OpenAL32.dll Have an Asus intel core 17 nvidia GForce win8 K555Lseries
    where do I get it?
     
    JackDoleDate: Saturday, 19.03.2016, 10:35 | Message # 431
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    Quote CaptVanFlight ()
    My SE will not install because it cant find OpenAL32.dll Have an Asus intel core 17 nvidia GForce win8 K555Lseries
    where do I get it?

    SE 0.973 is just a patch.
    You must first install SE 0.972.
    Then unzip the .zip file for SE 0.973 in the SpaceEngine folder.





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    MdRDate: Thursday, 24.03.2016, 16:32 | Message # 432
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Poland
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    Hi. I have a problem with low fps near planet surface. Fps drop frequently to 1 - 8. If terrain is loaded after some ugly seconds then i can fly around with 30-40 fpses or more.
    However if new terrain appears on the screen then it happens again and again... Not funny.

    I have 4gb ram | 64 bit win 10 | 2gb vram | and a rather weak processor 5420U (max 2.6 min 1.6 ghz) - but u said it doesnt require stronk cpu

    I have been tweaking settings for some time, currently i use -0.8 LOD 8 anisotrophic filt.| no antialiasing
    I tried disabling more settings but it changed little. I changed max video memory in main.cfg from 1560 to 2048 MB and perfomance improved a bit.
    I also disabled mipmap and reverted to older aurora rendering method.
    Problem almost dissapear at lod -2.0 but u know how terrain looks like with such settings. (like poop)

    I beg for your magnanimous help.

    Log file attached.

    Attachments: 6721013.log(31.2 Kb)
     
    jerrybeyondimaginationDate: Saturday, 26.03.2016, 19:16 | Message # 433
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    I have downloaded and installed space engine 0.9.7.2
    everything is fine , i can move around with mouse in space, but after a few seconds (5-6 seconds) it freezes and windows shows a popup saying its not responding and it closes sad .
    I have done all the things that are suggested above i.e., disable 3d water, reducing landscape lod to -2, and i'm attaching the log file below. Please help
    My hp laptop specs are
    >> AMD A8-7410 APU with radeon r5 graphics
    >> AMD RADEON R5 M330 GPU WITH 2 GB DDR3 MEMORY
    >> 8GB ddr3 ram
    in this version the fps is 30-45
    in the 0.9.7.3 its 15-20 sad sad
    I have the latest switchable graphics drivers installed from HP support site.
    Even in the log it shows that my discrete gpu is used and 2gb memory is also detected.

    thank you.

    Attachments: 6945559.log(31.9 Kb)


    Edited by jerrybeyondimagination - Saturday, 26.03.2016, 19:33
     
    MosfetDate: Monday, 28.03.2016, 22:12 | Message # 434
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 754
    Status: Offline
    just for clarification, it freezes with 0.9.7.3?




    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    MosfetDate: Monday, 28.03.2016, 22:20 | Message # 435
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 754
    Status: Offline
    MdR, did you try by removing atioglxx.dll?




    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
    Search: