ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 27 of 37«1225262728293637»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 16.04.2015, 22:59 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all isues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing videocard-specific issues

    If you do not know which videocard do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Nvidia: Water missing on terras, clouds are below the surface


    ATI/AMD: Crash on approaching to the black hole, neutron star or white dwarf, on using ship's hyperdrive, or when enabling the Oculus Rift mode or the Fish Eye mode


    ATI/AMD: Crash on Startup on Windows 10


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Spaceship disappears when far from a star


    7) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    8) Problems with very high resolution displays


    9) Problems in Windows 10 + AMD/ATI




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:
  •  
    JackDoleDate: Friday, 05.02.2016, 10:24 | Message # 391
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    Androverse,

    if you have a file with the name 'atioglxx.dll' in the system folder of 'SpaceEngine', delete it. Otherwise post the 'se.log'. You will also find this file in the 'SpaceEngine' system directory.





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    OMGspace_engineDate: Saturday, 06.02.2016, 16:25 | Message # 392
    Observer
    Group: Users
    Brazil
    Messages: 19
    Status: Offline
    I don't know if this is the correct thread, I'm trying to made a video of Space Engine but i'm having trouble in the configuration of the codec. In all the video codecs I try to use, the result video is poor. The only way i find to the video looks good is the Uncompressed frames, but the final video archive have problems with the frames index and only VLC player can barely reproduce them. Well... what is the best codec and it's configuration to a good quality final video?
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 06.02.2016, 16:59 | Message # 393
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8717
    Status: Offline
    If you want a good result, you'll need to install a codec from the internet. Lagarith is a good codec for lossless video, but it results in large file sizes, so you'll need a lot of hard drive space if you want to make long videos. The DivX codec is good for producing good quality video at small file sizes, but it's extremely difficult to find the DivX codec pack these days.

    Also, there are threads which talk specifically about making videos in SE, this would be the best place to discuss this.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    IskanderTDDate: Sunday, 07.02.2016, 03:50 | Message # 394
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    I got space engine and for some reason, every object (stars, planets, asteroids) are invisible.
    I am a computer idiot and can't figure out how to put the image in a post, so it is just an attachment. As you can see, the Earth is nothing but an aurora. The sun is a splotch. I updated from 0.9.2 to 0.9.3, but it didn't fix anything.

    Attachments: 6495570.jpg(224Kb) · 7150922.jpg(185Kb) · 6512454.log(82Kb)


    Edited by IskanderTD - Sunday, 07.02.2016, 04:00
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 07.02.2016, 03:53 | Message # 395
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8717
    Status: Offline
    IskanderTD, according to your log, it looks like you don't have write permissions for the location you installed SpaceEngine to. Try running as administrator, or moving the folder to a different location (NOT Program Files).




    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    IskanderTDDate: Sunday, 07.02.2016, 04:05 | Message # 396
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    HarbingerDawn, Thank you so much, it is working now. You are amazing biggrin
     
    htha9587Date: Sunday, 07.02.2016, 20:44 | Message # 397
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 6
    Status: Offline
    Just installed the 8th patch for 0.9.7.4. The black holes and such work fine, my only problem is the shaders for
    planets, moons, and stars are broken.

    Link: http://imgur.com/a/DsDuD

    Specs: AMD Athlon II X4 640 Processor: 3.00 GHZ.
    6.00 GB of RAM(5.75 usable)
    OpenGL: 3.3
    Graphic card/driver: ATI Radeon HD 4200, Total Memory; 2943 MB. Dedicated Video Memory: 256 MB
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium(64 bit)

    Log file: https://docs.google.com/documen....dit

    I installed version 0.9.7.4 to my desktop. All I have to fix now are the planet, moon, and star shaders. My 0.9.7.2 version had this problem too: http://imgur.com/wSzUqQx

    Keep in mind, these specs could play 0.9.7.1 with ZERO problems other than lag which could be managed.
    Should I revert the driver back to the 14.4 version?

    Or is there another way this could be solved?
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 07.02.2016, 21:11 | Message # 398
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8717
    Status: Offline
    Quote htha9587 ()
    Dedicated Video Memory: 256 MB

    SpaceEngine requires 512 MB at a MINIMUM. It's amazing it even works at all with so little VRAM, never mind all the problems with AMD drivers.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    htha9587Date: Monday, 08.02.2016, 03:31 | Message # 399
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 6
    Status: Offline
    So you're suggesting I get a better machine(driver)? Until such time, what can I do to fix the shader problem and enhance
    performance?
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 08.02.2016, 03:39 | Message # 400
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8717
    Status: Offline
    Quote htha9587 ()
    what can I do to fix the shader problem and enhance
    performance?

    It may not be a shader problem. Anyway, you can try deleting your cache folder and experimenting with different driver versions. But when you run a program on hardware that falls below the minimum requirements set out by its developer, you should never hold expectations of it working well. I can't guarantee that you'll be able to fix the issues you're having.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    AndroverseDate: Tuesday, 09.02.2016, 06:10 | Message # 401
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    Thanks for your response JackDole, I reinstalled it without knowing that file could've been the cause, but everything is working on Patch 8 now after reinstalling it. If it happens again I'll see if that works.
     
    huishbDate: Wednesday, 10.02.2016, 00:26 | Message # 402
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    Pirate
    Messages: 72
    Status: Offline
    Hi guys, i have a serious problem. ever since the patch 8 release, every time i'm near a black hole, white dwarf, neutron star, with or without accretion disks, my game fps drops to 3-2. ANYTHING with gravitational lensing or an accretion disk lags my game to death cry . I need help! in the past updates, black holes, etc have never lagged my game before... any help suggestions?

    my specs below!

    Attachments: 0434776.log(41Kb)





    Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
    Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB


    Edited by huishb - Wednesday, 10.02.2016, 01:11
     
    MosfetDate: Wednesday, 10.02.2016, 01:04 | Message # 403
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 754
    Status: Offline
    could you please attach your se.log located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory?




    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    huishbDate: Wednesday, 10.02.2016, 01:15 | Message # 404
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    Pirate
    Messages: 72
    Status: Offline
    attached!




    Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
    Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
     
    copuuledoutDate: Friday, 12.02.2016, 22:18 | Message # 405
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 4
    Status: Offline
    I can't subscribe to YouTube channels




    Why am I a female and keep putting in the security code wrong?
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.3
    Page 27 of 37«1225262728293637»
    Search: