ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 17 of 20«12151617181920»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Work progress - 0.9.8.1
Work progress - 0.9.8.1
quarior14Date: Thursday, 27.10.2016, 15:18 | Message # 241
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 649
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
So what do you think? Keep the old font (which have some problems like redundant pixels artefacts), or use the new one?

I love the new writing, but it's true that for computers to small screens, it can be difficult thing to read. Otherwise put an option for the user to choose the writing (directly installed in the computer) and size that will.
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Main menu buttons are part of the interface texture.

Cool, we can make a personalized menu without changing languages.
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
PS : yes, in-game tutorials are coming soon!

I presume it will also be tutorials with some vessels in the style of Kerbal Space Program as to orbit, rendezvous, ....
I imagine a tutorial : Your first time through a wormhole smile





Quarior

Edited by quarior14 - Thursday, 27.10.2016, 15:18
 
huishbDate: Thursday, 27.10.2016, 15:54 | Message # 242
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
i cant even imagine a fully working wormhole in spaceengine..... it would be sooo cool biggrin




Possessor: AMD FX™-4100 Quad-Core Possessor (CPUs), ~3.6 GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM. Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610. Approx total memory: 4045 MB
 
CanleskisDate: Thursday, 27.10.2016, 21:26 | Message # 243
Space Pilot
Group: Users
France
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
The next update is gonna hit so hard...

Edited by Canleskis - Thursday, 27.10.2016, 21:26
 
MosfetDate: Thursday, 27.10.2016, 21:39 | Message # 244
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
So what do you think? Keep the old font (which have some problems like redundant pixels artefacts), or use the new one? It's thickness can be changed, because I saved the texture "source code" (vector-based image).


I like the font, vector-based ones even more smile .
Personally I would try to use a bold font for menus, maybe a couple points greater.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Thursday, 27.10.2016, 21:40
 
The_BlazerDate: Friday, 28.10.2016, 22:21 | Message # 245
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Mmmm, there's something about the new menu buttons that I don't quit like in terms of looks... They kind of look like something one would make in PowerPoint for some college presentation, they look "minimalistic" but in a sort of unfinished way. I think it might be the flat look coupled with the noticeable gradient filling and low contrast. Perhaps we could use a tiny bit of glow with a more subtle gradient, or perhaps some transparency.




Born too early to explore space... But just in time for Space Engine.

PC Specs:
GTX 770 (2GB VRAM) - i5 4570 - 8GB RAM
 
second-ichDate: Saturday, 29.10.2016, 09:35 | Message # 246
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
I posted some time ago how I would imagine a modern "minimalistic" menu for SE. Now I revised it a bit.





I posted it also here:
http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/21-3499-3#73794
But I have no Idea of the limitations of SE, maybe you still can't use transparent layers, different fonts and so on.

Attachments: 2585704.jpg(469Kb) · 6808776.jpg(257Kb)


Edited by second-ich - Saturday, 29.10.2016, 09:37
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 29.10.2016, 14:38 | Message # 247
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote sgcommand92 ()
I suggest using the Titillium font. It's very readable and has a modern feel that I think fits with space, science and science-fiction. It also has a complete font family and is completely free. I also use it when I do something for science-fiction art so that's why I thought of it.

It doesn't have Cyrillic letters.

Quote quarior14 ()
I presume it will also be tutorials with some vessels in the style of Kerbal Space Program as to orbit, rendezvous, ....

No. It have no sense, because ships mechanics are in development, and ships will be excluded from the planetarium anyway.





 
quarior14Date: Saturday, 29.10.2016, 17:06 | Message # 248
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 649
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
No. It have no sense, because ships mechanics are in development, and ships will be excluded from the planetarium anyway.

We can no longer use the ship or it will be another option (yet with the current mechanical at least) ?

Also, for volumetric clouds, is that there will be an option for on/off the shaders in catalogs files ? Because I used the Clouds tag for one of my mods for anti-radiation shield Prosperous and also mods like JackDole using for something else for example :
Quote JackDole ()





Quarior
 
MosfetDate: Saturday, 29.10.2016, 20:46 | Message # 249
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote quarior14 ()
We can no longer use the ship or it will be another option (yet with the current mechanical at least) ?

I believe the idea will be "buy the game version" for that





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
Tac1017Date: Sunday, 30.10.2016, 18:41 | Message # 250
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 167
Status: Offline
Has there been updated to more atmospheric filters in searches?




The Terra Hunter of the Milky Way!

(By the way, I was born in 2001, NOT 1972 XD)
 
the_nerervarineDate: Monday, 31.10.2016, 15:19 | Message # 251
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Really looking forward to the next release. Everything looks awesome!




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
xbrain130Date: Thursday, 03.11.2016, 18:20 | Message # 252
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
Sorry if this seems a question unrelated to the development, but it might be: is the algorithm that calculates planetary surface temperatures based on the parent star's luminosity?
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 03.11.2016, 19:27 | Message # 253
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote xbrain130 ()
is the algorithm that calculates planetary surface temperatures based on the parent star's luminosity?

Of course. But if you are curious why changing star luminosity in the planet editor doesn't affect planet temperature, then answer is: editor is just a debug tool.





 
parameciumkidDate: Thursday, 03.11.2016, 20:17 | Message # 254
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
^ In response to that, it would be a sweet feature if there was a button or something to "recalculate" the rest of the system after changing a star, etc.




Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
xbrain130Date: Thursday, 03.11.2016, 20:46 | Message # 255
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Of course. But if you are curious why changing star luminosity in the planet editor doesn't affect planet temperature, then answer is: editor is just a debug tool.


Oh, it's not something so trivial, even though I barely post here I'm following this project for a while now, and I realized long ago that the editor does pretty much nothing.

No, my reason is that some time ago, as I was trying to personally add the then newly-discovered Proxima b, I noticed how the Temperature value was wildly off from the one given by the sources even when accounting for greenhouse effect.

I made a research and I found the wikipedia page on the matter (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Planetary_equilibrium_temperature), and according to that page surface temperature must be calculated from the star's temperature, not luminosity (which obviously includes also UVs and more importantly IRs which SE as many us know does not consider). Indeed, using the formula in the "Theoretical model" section gives me both the correct Earth temperature as without atmosphere, and Proxima b's temperature according to the official sources.

I'm sorry if you knew already and you decided against it for some reason, but for safety I decided to try to report this discrepancy. I hope I am not doing something wrong.


Edited by xbrain130 - Thursday, 03.11.2016, 20:47
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » Work progress - 0.9.8.1
Page 17 of 20«12151617181920»
Search: