ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Detailed Gale crater
Detailed Gale crater
KludDate: Wednesday, 04.03.2015, 13:28 | Message # 1
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Hi !

This is detailed bump and surface maps of Gale crater.



Links:Gale crater Place the .pak file in the "addons" folder.

https://drive.google.com/file....sharing

With it recommended use a slightly modified texture of Mars:

Links:

Levels
L0-L4:
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=1B7E07459551A4C%21742
https://drive.google.com/file....sharing

L5:
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=1B7E07459551A4C%21743
https://drive.google.com/file....sharing

Attachments: 3539868.jpg(86Kb)


Edited by Klud - Wednesday, 02.11.2016, 18:10
 
Destructor1701Date: Tuesday, 10.03.2015, 12:57 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 533
Status: Offline
That looks great!

Is this like the one that was posted on the Russian forums a couple of years ago? (possibly by you)

I installed that recently, and the colour of the surface at Gale is notably different to the new global maps, leading to a big square of difference visible from orbit - does this release have that issue?





 
KludDate: Wednesday, 11.03.2015, 15:53 | Message # 3
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
You talk about it?



Current texture of Mars less contrast than previous, this was done in order to make the image look like a real Mars , but it also has its drawbacks.
And decrease the contrast of crater texture makes no sense, because the details are will be lost.
Also, the dark areas are too brown, but should be more gray.
Thus it is so.

The modified Mars texture little bit helps.



In the future may be made transitional levels , as it was in version for SE_0.971,if that makes sense.

Attachments: 0093088.jpg(45Kb) · 5444873.jpg(43Kb)
 
VoekoevakaDate: Wednesday, 11.03.2015, 20:48 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
I know this mod from the russian forum, and it is awesome.

I have tons of hi-res maps of places on earth, but my computer is not strong enough to cubemapize it starting from a very big cylindrical projection...
It would be good to have an option on cubemap to cubemapize a texture starting from only a rectangle on it (putting transparent outside), with specifying the dimensions of the virtual original cubemap image, and the coordinates of the edges of the rectangle.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
Destructor1701Date: Wednesday, 11.03.2015, 20:53 | Message # 5
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 533
Status: Offline
No, the issue I mentioned was much more pronounced that it is in those screengrabs - I can barely discern it there, if at all. Perhaps I'm misunderstanding you (or I need to look at it on a better monitor :p)






Edited by Destructor1701 - Wednesday, 11.03.2015, 20:54
 
KludDate: Thursday, 12.03.2015, 22:29 | Message # 6
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Quote Voekoevaka ()
...and the coordinates of the edges of the rectangle.


Yes, it would simplify the task.
SpaceEngineer said that will add this feature in the future.

Quote Destructor1701 ()
...(or I need to look at it on a better monitor :p)


smile
 
AtmoscatDate: Thursday, 08.09.2016, 19:10 | Message # 7
Astronaut
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 68
Status: Offline
Just curious, anyone got this working in the latest version: 0.9.8.0?

*EDIT* Sorry for the bump, I found it IS working!





PC: Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8500 @ 3.16GHz, 3.25 GB / 4.00 GB DDR3 RAM, GeForce GTX750Ti 2048 MB VRAM, WinXP Home 32bit / Windows7Pro 64bit

Edited by Atmoscat - Thursday, 08.09.2016, 19:18
 
geoformDate: Saturday, 10.09.2016, 02:22 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
Venezuela
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Awesome!... and thanks!



How could i add more bump and/or surface maps?...
Please: put me in the right direction! Any tutorial you recomend?... Id love to make patches of specific regions in Mars and Earth.
 
JohnVVDate: Monday, 12.09.2016, 02:39 | Message # 9
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 36
Status: Offline
first you will need to make the heightmaps from the hirise stereo images using "stereo pipeline"

if you do not already know how to do that , it might take a year or 3 to learn

there are a few released height maps for some areas , you will need to find them
start with the imaging team's web site
http://www.uahirise.org/

the DTM's are the height data
http://www.uahirise.org/dtm/
the "DTEEC_????? " is the image you need
it is in PDS img format

like this one
http://www.uahirise.org/dtm/dtm.php?ID=PSP_004350_1635
"DTEEC_004350_1635_003638_1635_A01.IMG" ( 345 meg)
screenshot in ISIS3 "qview "


the OLD MOLA data is a very LOW!!! laser hit count map with a lot of issues
the 128 pixels per degree is the highest resolution
http://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/missions/mgs/megdr.html

BUT it has MANY problems


Edited by JohnVV - Monday, 12.09.2016, 02:53
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 12.09.2016, 11:44 | Message # 10
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
SpaceEngine's cubemap tool can process only the whole map of the planet, not only a part of it. This is the main problem. I haven't time to update the tool, but if you can programming experience, you can do that. Or you can use some GIS software to produce cubemap tiles for SE.




 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 02.11.2016, 10:40 | Message # 11
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Repacked Gale crater for 0.980. Just save this pak file to the addons folder.
Link





 
KludDate: Wednesday, 02.11.2016, 16:34 | Message # 12
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Repacked Gale crater for 0.980. Just save this pak file to the addons folder.


Thanks!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Detailed Gale crater
Page 1 of 11
Search: